Expanded access to library holdings not in James White Library can be explored in the following databases.
The James White Library Seminary Collection represents approximately 180,000 books, 33,000 bound journal volumes, 500 print subscriptions, and 50,000 microforms. In addition, Seminary students and faculty have full access to all the information resources of Andrews University. These numbers do not include growing e-book and e-journal collections.
This includes a Seminary Reference section with approximately 3200 titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, language tools, commentaries, and historical Texts.
The Seminary Library collection represents well the literatures of the Seminary disciplinary fields, with particular strengths in Biblical Studies and Christian Ministry. All topics of special interest to Seventh-day Adventists are collected exhaustively, and in most of these, James White Library has the largest holdings of any library.
Of related interest is the Center for Adventist Research, a leading documentary collection for the study of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, its predecessors and related groups, from the Millerite movement of the mid nineteenth century to the present.
The reference collection of the Institute of Archaeology and the Seigfried H. Horn Museum is also represented in the James White Library Catalog.
Is the journal available online?
No single database contains all the content availble to Andrews University users. Particularly for journal titles, this question can be challenging. To verify access to a journal title for which the citation information is known, use Periodicals A to Z.
Interlibrary Loan Instructions
Interlibrary loan is a service offered to university students, faculty, and staff for the purpose of acquiring research materials needed to support their curricular needs. The requestor must have a currently validated Andrews University identification card and be a JWL user in good standing. Family members, community card holders, elementary and secondary school students are encouraged to consult their own libraries (academic, public, school, or special) for their interlibrary loan needs.