General Reference Resources
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.
eBOOKS
- Wendell Berry and Higher Education: Cultivating Virtues of Place (Culture of the Land) Prominent author and cultural critic Wendell Berry is well known for his contributions to agrarianism and environmentalism, but his commentary on education has received comparatively little attention. Berry has been eloquently unmasking America's cultural obsession with restless mobility for decades, arguing that it causes damage to both the land and the character of our communities. Education, he maintains, plays a central role in this obsession, inculcating in students'minds the American dream of moving up and moving on.Drawing on Berry's essays, fiction, and poetry, Jack R. Baker and Jeffrey Bilbro illuminate the influential thinker's vision for higher education in this pathbreaking study. Each chapter begins with an examination of one of Berry's fictional narratives and then goes on to consider how the passage inspires new ways of thinking about the university's mission. Throughout, Baker and Bilbro argue that instead of training students to live in their careers, universities should educate students to inhabit and serve their places. The authors also offer practical suggestions for how students, teachers, and administrators might begin implementing these ideas.Baker and Bilbro conclude that institutions guided by Berry's vision might cultivate citizens who can begin the work of healing their communities—graduates who have been educated for responsible membership in a family, a community, or a polity.
- Teaching Character and Virtue in Schools (Citizenship, Character and Values Education) eaching Character and Virtue in Schools addresses the contemporary issues of quantification and measurement in educational settings. The authors draw on the research of the Jubilee Centre at the University of Birmingham in order to investigate the concern that the conventional wisdom, sound judgement and professional discretion of teachers is being diminished and control mistakenly given over to administrators, policymakers and inspectors which in turn is negatively effecting pupils' character development.
- A Christian Education in the Virtues Character Formation and Human Flourishing By James Arthur A Christian Education in the Virtues examines the connection between human nature and human flourishing. It draws on ancient and medieval sources to explore the formation of the person based on a Christian anthropology, emphasising the communal nature of the virtuous life and provides a richer approach to the question of contemporary character education. The book argues that the only way to understand and construct our character virtues is to have a clear picture of what is the purpose and meaning of human life. It highlights the importance of engaging with moral issues and makes the case that, for Christian educators, human flourishing is inseparable from God's active relationship to human beings. The book also explores a teleological approach to character education goals. To educate the whole person in the light of an all-embracing Christian worldview is challenged by secular and liberal ideology and is often seen as irrational to the modern mind. Overall, the text seeks to demonstrate that many aspects of a Neo-Aristotelian-Thomist theoretical underpinning for Christian character education holds out a viable option for Christians. It therefore argues the case for the educational potential of Christian character education. This important book will be essential reading for academics, researchers and students in the fields of character and virtue education, religious education and the philosophy of education. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com/books/oa-mono/10.4324/9781003141877, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
- Higher Education and Professional Ethics : Roles and Responsibilities of Teachers This book discusses the significance, relevance, and usefulness of professional ethics in the context of higher education. It highlights the pivotal role of professional ethics in offering teachers a better understanding of their responsibilities, duties, rights, and institutional obligations as they work to provide quality education.
- Encouraging Authenticity and Spirituality in Higher Education This groundbreaking book provides a comprehensive resource that addresses the growing movement for incorporating spirituality as an important aspect of the meaning and purpose of higher education. Written by Arthur W. Chickering, Jon C. Dalton, and Leisa Stamm--experts in the field of educational leadership and policy--"Encouraging Authenticity and Spirituality in Higher Education" shows how to encourage increased authenticity and spiritual growth among students and education professionals by offering alternative ways of knowing, being, and doing.
- Towards an Architecture for the Teaching of Virtues, Values and Ethics This book, based on extensive qualitative research carried out among teachers in Australia, New Zealand and the UK, explores a new approach to teaching virtues, values and ethics in the twenty-first century. Drawing on both education studies and philosophy, the author uses inductive methods of analysis and synthesis to construct a renewed theory of education founded on teaching thinking skills.
- Teaching Virtues: Building Character Across the Curriculum Here's how to teach character education in a way that will encourage your students' health and happiness at the same time as improving their learning experience. Teaching Virtues explains the current reality facing teachers―too much inspiration and not enough implementation―and responds with specific psychological and pedagogical strategies. Based upon the universal virtues present in the holistic American Indian view of ethics, the methods in this book enable educators to unify character and curriculum. A more ethical and more educated student is the result.
- Virtues and Virtue Education in Theory and Practice: Are Virtues Local or Universal? Virtues and Virtue Education in Theory and Practice explores questions about the locality versus the universality of virtues from a number of theoretical and practical perspectives. Written by leading international scholars in the field, it considers the relevance of these debates for the practice of virtue and character education.
- Virtuous Minds: Intellectual Character Development Our culture today is in a state of crisis where intellectual virtue is concerned. Dishonesty, cheating, arrogance, laziness, cowardice--such vices are rampant in society, even among the world's most prominent leaders. We find ourselves in an ethical vacuum, as the daily headlines of our newspapers confirm again and again. Central to the problem is the state of education.
- Virtues in the Public Sphere: Citizenship, Civic Friendship and Duty Virtues in the Public Sphere features seventeen chapters by experts from a variety of different perspectives on the broad theme of virtue in the public sphere. Spanning issues such as the notion of civic friendship and civic virtue, it sheds light on the role that these virtues play in the public sphere and their importance in safeguarding communities from the threats of a lack of concern for truth, poor leadership, charlatanism, and bigotry. This book highlights the theoretical complexity of putting virtue ethics into practice in the public domain at a time when it has been shaken by unpredictable political, social, technological, and cultural developments.
- Cultivating Moral Character and Virtue in Professional Practice Cultivating Moral Character and Virtue in Professional Practice is a pioneering collection of essays focused on the place of character and virtue in professional practice. Professional practices usually have codes of conduct designed to ensure good conduct; but while such codes may be necessary and useful, they appear far from sufficient, since many recent public scandals in professional life seem to have been attributable to failures of personal moral character. This book argues that there is a pressing need to devote more attention in professional education to the cultivation or development of such moral qualities as integrity, courage, self-control, service and selflessness.
- The Theory and Practice of Virtue Education The Theory and Practice of Virtue Education offers the reader a comprehensive and authoritative account of both the theoretical and practical complexities of cultivating virtue in education and beyond. The book moves beyond the usual philosophical literature that merely discusses virtue in the abstract, and offers scholarly, research-informed suggestions for practice.
JWL Print Collection
1. Engaged Teaching: A Handbook for College Faculty/ Barkley, Elizabeth F.; Howell Major, Claire (ordered)
2. Ethics Teaching in Higher Education (The Hastings Center Series in Ethics)/by Daniel Callahan and Sissela Bok (ordered)
3. Ethics across the Curriculum, A Practice-Based Approach/ Michael Boylan and James A. Donahue (ordered)
4. Glittering Vices: A New Look at the Seven Deadly Sins and Their Remedies/ Rebecca Konyndyk DeYoung. BV 4626 .D49 2020
5. Deep in Thought: A Practical Guide to Teaching for Intellectual Virtues/ Baehr, Jason (ordered)
6. The teaching of ethics in higher education: a report/by the Hastings Center. BJ 66 .H37 1980
Core Journal Titles
- The Christian Century The Christian Century is a progressive, ecumenical magazine based in Chicago. Committed to thinking critically and living faithfully, the Century explores what it means to believe and live out the Christian faith in our time.
- Christianity and Literature Christianity & Literature is a scholarly journal devoted to the exploration of how literature engages Christian thought, experience, and practice. The journal presupposes no particular theological orientation but respects an orthodox understanding of Christianity as a historically defined religious faith
- Educational Psychology Review Educational Psychology Review is an international forum for the publication of peer-reviewed integrative review articles, special thematic issues, reflections or comments on previous research or new research directions, interviews, and research-based advice for practitioners - all pertaining to the field of educational psychology.
- International Journal of Educational Research The International Journal of Educational Research publishes research manuscripts in the field of education. Work must be of a quality and context that the Editorial Board think would be of interest to an international readership
- International Journal of Ethics Education The aim of the journal is to provide a global platform for exchange of research data, theories, experiences, reports and opinions on ethics education in a broad range of areas of applied ethics.
- Journal of Adventist Education JAE seeks to provide Adventist Christian educators with a professional resource that informs and inspires conversations about the integration of faith with teaching and learning.
- Journal of Applied Ethics and Philosophy How Applied Should Applied Ethics Be? · Forms of Organizing Human Society Inspired by Technological Structures.
- Journal of Beliefs & Values It is the official journal of the Association for University Lecturers in Religion and Education (AULRE) and is affiliated to the International Seminar on Religious Education and Values (ISREV).
- Journal of Character Education The Journal of Character Education is the leading source of cutting-edge knowledge about character education research, theory, practice, and opinion.
- Journal of College and Character Journal of College and Character is a professional journal examining how colleges and universities influence the moral and civic learning of students.
- Journal of College Student Development Journal of College Student Development (JCSD), the largest and leading source of research about college students and the field of student affairs, ...
- Journal of Ethics The Journal of Ethics: An International Philosophical Review seeks to publish articles on a wide range of topics in ethics, philosophically construed,
- Journal of Moral Education The Journal provides a unique interdisciplinary forum for the discussion and analysis of moral education and development throughout the lifespan.
- Journal of Personality Journal of Personality publishes scientific investigations in the field of personality. It focuses particularly on personality and behavior dynamics, ...
- Journal Of Personality and Social Psychology The journal addresses all aspects of psychology (e.g., attitudes, cognition, emotion, motivation) that take place in significant micro- and macrolevel social contexts.
- Journal of Research in Character Education The Journal of Character Education is the leading source of cutting-edge knowledge about character education research, theory, practice, and opinion.
