LibGuides: Library Resources for School of Education: Learning Resources from MeL

Pre-K Through Elementary

Britannica Learning Zone This link opens in a new window Pre K - 2nd grade. Play and read to learn letters, numbers, shapes, and more.
Britannica School Elementary This link opens in a new window Grades 3-4. Find information on countries, animals, and people. Watch and learn with videos, games, and activities.
World Book Early Learning This link opens in a new window Grades PreK-5. Follow Trek and Taffy the cat around the world learning about colors, numbers and other fun things. Strengthen reading foundations with stories, activities and videos. Explore the Know It encyclopedia designed especially for early readers. Includes materials for educators. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
eBook K-8 Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Titles that support K-8 students across all subject areas. Also features a selection of teacher resources to support educators and administrators including Common Core alignment. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list. Includes tools for teachers such as Lexile levels and Common Core standards.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window For elementary school libraries. Content from children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedia entries, and images. Students can learn about animals, musicians, fitness, space exploration, and much more.
World Book Kids This link opens in a new window Grades PreK - 5 Contains eight major subject categories: Arts, History and Government, Living Things, People, Places, Science and Mathematics, Sports and Hobbies, and World Religions. Has full-featured pictures, sounds and videos. Also includes a section for teachers. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.

Middle / High School

Britannica School This link opens in a new window Nonfiction content geared for K-12 students. Includes over 132,000 encyclopedia articles, 103,000 images, 7,500 multimedia elements, more than 27,000 eBooks, and novels and essays. Tools include translation for 50+ languages and read-aloud functionality. Includes Lexile ranges and alignment with Michigan Department of Education Academic Standards across a variety of subjects.
Britannica School High This link opens in a new window Quick facts and in-depth information on history, geography, people, places, science, and more. Biographies, world atlas, countries comparison, articles, and interactive resources are available.
Britannica School Middle This link opens in a new window Grades 5-7. Find maps, photos, articles, and famous people and places. Compare countries and tour the U.S.A. For homework help and your curiosity.
eBook High School Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window For high school students and educators. There is a selection of teacher resources and titles align with Common Core Curriculum Standards. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos This link opens in a new window Spanish language encyclopedia for children from World Book. Designed for young Spanish speaking students or those learning Spanish as a second language. Full text articles, maps, flags, and more. Dozens of hands-on activities and links to Spanish language websites. Also includes a visual dictionary.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window Designed for high school libraries and offers coverage of popular high school magazines and reference books. Wide range of subjects offered including art, history, sports and music. Over 1,000,000 photos, maps and flags.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window Magazines and reference books for middle school students. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Subjects include history, current events, science, sports, and biographies. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.
Read It! This link opens in a new window For middle and high school students and adults. Helps to build reading skills and improve study habits. Includes tests.

Adult Learning

Adult Core Skills from LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window Practice for the U.S. Citizenship exam in English or Spanish. Build your math and reading skills. Includes eBook study help as well as an eBook guide to getting a green card. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on these tests.
Career Preparation from LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window Includes a resume builder where you can save, edit, and print. Explore a variety of careers including allied health, law enforcement, and nursing. Prepare for occupation exams including civil service, commercial driver's license, cosmetology, teaching, and more. Prepare to join the military or become an officer. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on these exams.
College Students from LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window Achieve your undergrad goals and prepare for future success. Math, reading, grammar, and science review with eBooks. Practice tests for six graduate school record exams including the GRE, LSAT, and MCAT. Includes multiple college placement exams including ACCUPLACER and ASSET preparation. Includes practice for the CLEP exams. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on your college admissions tests and essay.
Computer Skills Tutorial from LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window Offers 90+ courses on topics such as computer basics, Internet basics, Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop, and MS Office tools like Word, Outlook, Access, Excel, PowerPoint, and SharePoint. Create a free account to access these tools.
High School Equivalency Center from LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window Skills building in reading, writing, grammar, spelling, and math. Practice for the GED in English and Spanish. Practice the HiSET and the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC). Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on these tests.
Recursos Para Hispanohablantes from LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window Learning tools, career, and citizenship exam practice in Spanish. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on these tests.