Open Access Historical and Special Collections in Religion and Theology
Adventist Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
Atla Digital LibraryThe ATLA Digital Library provides discoverability and access to digital collections of interest to religion and theology researchers. It is conceived in support of ATLA’s mission of fostering the study of theology and religion by enhancing the development of theological and religious studies libraries and librarianship. Through collaboration with ATLA member and non-member libraries and organizations, the ATLA Digital Library Program will offer a range of services, from aggregation of metadata and linking to digital collections to hosting collections on behalf of participating libraries and organizations.
Dicitionary of Nature Imagery of the Hebrew BibleThe Dictionary of Nature Imagery of the Bible (DNI) is an exegetical tool for biblical scholars and students worldwide.
The corpus for DNI is mainly the Hebrew Bible, although Second Temple literature and the New Testament will be addressed as they elucidate passages in the Hebrew Bible.
DNI will also give professionals in the various fields of ecology access to the use of nature imagery in the literary texts of the Bible.
Ellen G. White WritingsOne of the founders of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, Ellen G. White was a prolific writer whose works inspired and ministered to her contemporaries, and yet her timeless insight and wisdom continue to bless her readers.
Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) is very proud to present the Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library, a free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s in the Judean Desert along the western shore of the Dead Sea – are now available to the public online.
GlobeTheoLibRequires individual registration, no cost to user.
The Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism [GlobeTheoLib] is a multilingual online library offering access free of charge to more than 650'000 full-text articles, journals, books and other resources. Its focus is on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity.
Open Access Digital Theological LibraryThe mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced library discovery cataloging and discovery system, OCLC’s WorldShare, to make content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
Post-Reformation Digital LibraryThe Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research of Calvin Theological Seminary.
SHEBANQ: System for HEBrew Text: ANnotations for Queries and MarkupThis is a system for the study of the Hebrew Bible, produced by the ETCBC in cooperation with the German Bible Society and the Netherlands Bible Society.
It is powered by the ETCBC database, formerly known as WIVU which facilitates powerful syntactical queries. SHEBANQ lets you develop and share those queries with fellow researchers. Scholarly editions of the Bible usually dedicate space to a critical apparatus and various kinds of annotations. SHEBANQ introduces the idea of annotating the text with queries. They show up next to the text pages where the results are. By sharing your queries with others, you may find what you did not search for. Of course you can also add ordinary annotations!
Society of Biblical Literature Greek New TestamentThe SBLGNT is edited by Michael W. Holmes, who utilized a wide range of printed editions, all the major critical apparatuses, and the latest technical resources and manuscript discoveries as he established the text. The result is a critically edited text that differs from the Nestle-Aland/United Bible Societies text in more than 540 variation units.
Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Theological CommonsThe Theological Commons is a digital library of over 100,000 resources on theology and religion. It consists mainly of public domain books but also includes periodicals, audio recordings, and other formats.
Theological German DictionaryWolfgang P. Kunze EditorIncluded are the Religionswissenschaften: Archeology, Religious Art and Architecture, Church History, Comparative Religion, Ethics, Judaic Studies, Language, Linguistics, and Literature , Missions, Mythology and Folklore, Pastoral Counseling, Sacred Music, and Philosophy, as well as important abbreviations and Latin phrases and German, Latin, and Greek root words which are used as technical terms with very specific meanings.
This online-dictionary continues to improve and grow as new words are entered and checked every day. Since this is a work in progress and all entries are set up around a specific use of the vocabulary we make no guarantee of completeness. However, over 28.000 entries are already in the database.
The Thesaurus Linguae Aegyptiae on the InternetThe Thesaurus Linguae Aegyptiae is a publication platform made available on the Internet by the Project Structure and Transformation in the Vocabulary of the Egyptian Language (former Ancient Egyptian Dictionary Project) at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Within the Thesaurus, a digital corpus of Egyptian (including Demotic) texts have been released to the public for computer-assisted search. Lemmatization and morpho-syntactic annotation of the text material allow for specific research from lexical, philological, linguistic, and historico-cultural points of view. All texts come with running translations to assist particularly non-specialists and scholars of neighbouring disciplines in their work.
Electronic Journals LibraryThe Electronic Journals Library was founded in 1997 by the University Library of Regensburg in co-operation with the Technische Universität München University Library within the framework of a project.
Journal TOCSJournalTOCs is the largest searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). It contains articles' metadata of TOCs for over 28,374 journals directly collected from over 2744 publishers.
LatindexEs producto de la cooperación de una red de instituciones que funcionan de manera coordinada para reunir y diseminar información bibliográfica sobre las publicaciones científicas seriadas producidas en la región.
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB): GermanyThe goal of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) is to offer everyone unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage, that is, access to millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, as well as films and scores, from all over Germany. As a central, national portal, the DDB is aiming to bring together and network digital content from all of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions.
EuropeanaMulti-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections
GallicaGallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plus de 2 millions de documents.
Web sites with social media features intended for academic scholars who are self-archiving their work, including many representatives in the fields of religion, theology, philosophy and related disciplines.