Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, and monographs and other materials relevant for education.
Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science citation index helps researchers to find, analyze, and share information. It gives links to articles cited in an author's publication and tells which scholars have cited each article.
Medical Laboratory Sciences Databases
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
MedLine This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.. Web of Science Database, use Select database pull down menu to limit to MedLIne only.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Sources include journals (some peer-reviewed) and reports.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Supports the health and wellness information needs of patients. Covers mainstream medicine as well as complementary and holistic medicine.
Consumer Health Information This link opens in a new window
Offers detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Provides answers in evidence-based reports that feature illustrations and easy-to-read text.
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window
Lippincott Advisor is the single source for immediate, evidence-based, online nursing clinical-decision support. It delivers instant, 24/7 access to the latest evidence-based information that clinicians need at the point of care with over 17,000 monographs and patient teaching handouts.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
For more than 20 years, clinicians around the world have relied on UpToDate as their primary resource for medical knowledge at the point of care. The knowledge contained in UpToDate is evidence-based and continuously updated, but it is not merely an aggregation and report of the latest research; UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. It combines an advanced publishing platform with the rigor of a sophisticated editorial process managed by a faculty of accomplished physician authors and editors, renowned leaders in their specialties.
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
Article Reference Example APA Style
Mamhidir, A., Lindberg, M., Larsson, R., Fläckman, B., & Engström, M. (2011). Deficient knowledge of multidrug-resistant bacteria and preventive hygiene measures among primary healthcare personnel. Journal Of Advanced Nursing, 67(4), 756-762. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2648.2010.05533.x
APA Style Simple References
If an article is not available at James White Library, it may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is offered to University students, faculty, and staff for the purpose of acquiring research materials to support their curricular needs. The requestor must have a currently validated Andrews University ID and be a JWL user in good standing.