General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, and monographs and other materials relevant for education.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals.
Google Scholar Search
Tutorials
- Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources
Subject Databases
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Published by the Association for Computing Machinery
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
- APA PSYCArticlesfull-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association
Print Periodicals
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
Core Journals - Mathematical Biology
- Journal of Theoretical Biology Some full-text available. May need interlibrary loan.
Core Journals - Dynamical Systems
- Journal of Difference Equations and Applications Limited full-text. Use interlibrary loan.
Interlibrary Loan
If an article is not available at James White Library, it may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is offered to University students, faculty, and staff for the purpose of acquiring research materials to support their curricular needs. The requestor must have a currently validated Andrews University ID and be a JWL user in good standing.
Academic Social Media
Web sites with social media features intended for academic scholars who are self-archiving their work.
Core Journals - Mathematics Education
- Cognition and Instruction Limited full-text after 2008. May need interlibrary loan.
- For the Learning of Mathematics No full-text. Use interlibrary loan.
- Journal for Research in Mathematics Education Limited full-text after 2010 from http://www.nctm.org/publications/teaching-children-mathematics/. Use Interlibrary loan.
- Mathematics Teacher Limited full-text from web site. Paper copy available in Library periodicals room.
- Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School Limited full-text. Use Interlibrary loan.
- Teaching Children Mathematics Available in hard copy at Library.
