Library Catalogs
- MeLCat Statewide (Michigan) union catalog and borrowing system.
Higher Education Administration Websites
- American Association for Higher Education Provides programmatic and intellectual leadership in higher education.
- The American Council on Education ACE is the major coordinating body for the nation’s colleges and universities. We represent more than 1,600 college and university presidents and the executives at related associations, and are the only major higher education association to represent all types of U.S. accredited, degree-granting institutions: two-year and four-year, public and private. Our strength lies in our loyal and diverse base of member institutions, 75 percent of which have been with ACE for over 10 years. That loyalty stands as a testament to the value derived from membership. We convene representatives from all sectors to collectively tackle the toughest higher education challenges, with a focus on improving access and preparing every student to succeed.
- American Educational Research Association The American Educational Research Association (AERA), a national research society, strives to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education.
- Association of American Colleges and Universities AAC&U is the leading national association concerned with the quality, vitality, and public standing of undergraduate liberal education. Its members are committed to extending the advantages of a liberal education to all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career.
- Center for Teaching and Learning ( U. of Chicago) Supports teaching across the university and professional development for graduate students and faculty members. Offers workshops and seminars annually and hosts topic-specific events on teaching.
- National Society for Experiential Education (NSEE) National Society for Experiential Education (NSEE) is a nonprofit membership association of educators, businesses, and community leaders. Founded in 1971, NSEE also serves as a national resource center for the development and improvement of experiential education programs nationwide.
Featured Resources
- Adventist Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
- Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
FDO makes it easy to turn foundations into funders. It’s the only resource you need to search for the foundations most likely to give you grants and manage your prospects through to funding.
- NAXOS Music Library This link opens in a new window
Music library with more than 127,220 CD-length recordings, equivalent to 1,946,200 tracks are available, with an average addition of 1,150 CDs every month
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
Coverage: 1980 - current - WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Thomson Reuters Westlaw is the industry's most preferred online legal research service year after year. With Westlaw, you can find the legal information you are looking for quickly and confidently so you can build the strongest argument possible. (web site)
General Reference Resources
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Searching 3,437,135 full text articles in 805 reference books
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias -- Religion This link opens in a new window The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The OREs cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedias combine the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing. Multi-media features embedded in the articles, along with cross-referenced links to related content, will further expand the utility and scope of the OREs.
Online Newspapers
- The Chronicle of Philanthropy Print and online news source for nonprofit leaders, fund raisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise.
- Education World Online resource that teachers, administrators and school staff can visit find news, lesson plans, and other information relevant to education.
Encore Discovery @ Andrews University
Digital Commons @ Andrews Univeristy Readership Map
Reference / Database / Off-campus Services Librarian
Suggested Reading
Blue Ocean Strategy by Call Number: HF5415.153.K53 2005ISBN: 9781591396192Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Creative confidence: unleashing the creative potential within us all by
Too often, companies and individuals assume that creativity and innovation are the domain of the "creative types." But two of the foremost experts in innovation, design and creativity on the planet show us that each and every one of us is creative. In an incredibly entertaining and inspiring narrtiave that draws on countless stories from their work at IDEO and with many of the world's top companies and design firms, David and Tom Kelley identify the principles and strategies that will allow us to tap into our creative potential in our work lives, and in our personal lives, allow us to think outside the box in terms of how we approach and solve problems. It is a book that will help each of us be more productive and successful in our lives and in our careers.
Call Number: HD53 .K4534 2013ISBN: 9780007517978Publication Date: 2013- On the Brink: A Fresh Lens to Take Your Business to New Heights by Innovation has become such a ubiquitous value, it's in danger of becoming cliché. Companies frequently talk about it as the sweeping secret to solve all their business problems; however, they often don't know where to start or how to expand beyond creative brainstorming to strategically identify and act upon new business opportunities. Andi Simon is a corporate anthropologist who has empowered thousands of business leaders to see their companies with fresh eyes, identify their next big ideas, and--most importantly--turn innovative solutions into executable change. In her groundbreaking book, On the Brink: A Fresh Lens to Take Your Business to New Heights, Andi presents her unique methods for harnessing innovation and revitalizing business growth. Taking readers on a journey through seven case studies, Andi shares how she helped these businesses discover new and profitable growth opportunities by exploring the untapped resources that were right in front of them. From a medical center facing multiple years in the red to a rural university battling decreasing enrollment to an equipment manufacturer whose award-winning product just wasn't selling--the stories of these seven companies struggling to innovate and grow provide invigorating testimony to the power of corporate anthropology. Whether searching for a way to revitalize a business or to expand a successful company into new and profitable directions, the strategies outlined in On the Brink will give readers the fresh approach they need to achieve meaningful business breakthroughs.ISBN: 97816262804Publication Date: 2016
On the Brink by
Innovation has become such a ubiquitous value, it's in danger of becoming cliché. Companies frequently talk about it as the sweeping secret to solve all their business problems; however, they often don't know where to start or how to expand beyond creative brainstorming to strategically identify and act upon new business opportunities.
Andi Simon is a corporate anthropologist who has empowered thousands of business leaders to see their companies with fresh eyes, identify their next big ideas, and--most importantly--turn innovative solutions into executable change. In her groundbreaking book, On the Brink: A Fresh Lens to Take Your Business to New Heights, Andi presents her unique methods for harnessing innovation and revitalizing business growth. Taking readers on a journey through seven case studies, Andi shares how she helped these businesses discover new and profitable growth opportunities by exploring the untapped resources that were right in front of them.
From a medical center facing multiple years in the red to a rural university battling decreasing enrollment to an equipment manufacturer whose award-winning product just wasn't selling--the stories of these seven companies struggling to innovate and grow provide invigorating testimony to the power of corporate anthropology.
Whether searching for a way to revitalize a business or to expand a successful company into new and profitable directions, the strategies outlined in On the Brink will give readers the fresh approach they need to achieve meaningful business breakthroughs.
ISBN: 9781626342804Publication Date: 2016-07-05
