American Periodicals ProquestThis link opens in a new windowThis database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1This link opens in a new windowStudents, educators, and researchers can now engage with a vast resource that connects them to rare and unique documentation of LGBTQ history through fully-searchable newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources. Selection of materials for this milestone digital program is guided by an advisory board consisting of leading scholars and librarians in sexuality and gender studies.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement LCP 1670-1800This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries
From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement
Published in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowYou have access to part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and IdentiesThis link opens in a new windowAs the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights.
As a comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities will focus on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.
Seventh-day Adventist History
Adventist Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
This site was established in 2001 as an online resource for those seeking information pertaining to Seventh-day Adventist history, official documents, statistics and directories. In more than a decade of existence, it has hosted hundreds of thousands of visitors and is an official resource for those seeking information about the Adventist church.
Ellen G. White WritingsOne of the founders of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, Ellen G. White was a prolific writer whose works inspired and ministered to her contemporaries, and yet her timeless insight and wisdom continue to bless her readers.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1This link opens in a new windowThe Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2This link opens in a new windowThe Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 covers religious and theological literature from 1893 through 1922. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. (website)
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThis database includes:
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)
Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
Primarily in English - also includes other languages
Loeb Classical LibraryThis link opens in a new windowWelcome – old friends and newcomers, scholars, students, and general readers alike – to the digital Loeb Classical Library, and to invite you to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in the familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones.
Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) is very proud to present the Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library, a free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s in the Judean Desert along the western shore of the Dead Sea – are now available to the public online.
Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeThis link opens in a new windowThe TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Ninteenth Century US Newspapers Digital ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowAs compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
New York TimesThis link opens in a new windowThis is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
Coverage: 1980 - current
EuropeanaMulti-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections
GallicaGallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plus de 2 millions de documents.
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB): GermanyThe goal of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) is to offer everyone unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage, that is, access to millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, as well as films and scores, from all over Germany. As a central, national portal, the DDB is aiming to bring together and network digital content from all of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions.
Google Books Ngram ViewerWhen you enter phrases into the Google Books Ngram Viewer, it displays a graph showing how those phrases have occurred in a corpus of books (e.g., "British English", "English Fiction", "French") over the selected years.