Architecture Resource Center: EDRA

Since 1987 the ARC has developed a special relationship with the Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) as the official repository of its worldwide publications in the field of environmental behavior/design.  The holdings in this collection reflect over 50 years of accumulation and are the most comprehensive in the world.   EDRA is an international, interdisciplinary organization, founded in 1968 by design professionals, social and behavioral scientists, students, educators, and environmental managers. The purpose of EDRA is to improve the understanding of the interrelationships between people and their built environment along with the natural surroundings, and to help create environments responsive to human needs.   This research cuts across all disciplinary lines.

The Architecture Resource Center is the official repository of the EDRA collection.

The interdisciplinary collection holds books, trade journals, EDRA bibliographies, proceedings, documents, technical papers, and multimedia materials supporting research in the discipline of environment and behavior. The collection has been developed over the past 50 years and is the most comprehensive in the world.

From 1987 to 2016, the architecture librarian at Andrews prepared a new book display for each annual EDRA conference. These books were added to the collection and an annual bibliography of the materials was provided for EDRA members. As of 2016, the book display has been discontinued, but the annual bibliographies, now digitized and maintained on the Andrews University Digital Commons, may be accessed by EDRA members and supporters worldwide (digitalcommons.andrews.edu/edra).

For further information regarding the EDRA collection at Andrews University, please contact:

Tamara Karr, Director

Architecture Resource Center

Andrews University, Berrien Springs, Michigan 49104-0450

Phone: 269-471-3027

Fax: 269-471-6261

tamarak@andrews.edu