LibGuides: Library Resources for School of Graduate Psychology & Counseling: Book/E-book Collections

General Reference Resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.

Open Access E-books

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Books and multimedia resources in the James White Library are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress system. If you would like to browse the shelves, resources for counseling and psychology may be found in the following Library of Congress subject headings.

BF1 - BF990	-	Psychology
BF173 - BF175.5	-	Psychoanalysis
BF176 - BF176.5	-	Psychological Tests and Testing
BF180 - BF198.7	-	Experimental Psychology
BF636 - BF637	-	Applied Psychology
LB1050.9 - LB1091	-	Educational Psychology
BF699 - BF711	-	Genetic Psychology
BF697 - BF 697.5	-	Differential Psychology , Individuality, Self
BF712 - BF724.85	-	Developmental Psychology Including Infant, Child, Adolescence, Adulthood
BF309 - BF499	-	Consciousness. Cognition Including Learning, Attention, Comprehension, Memory, Thought & Thinking, Psycholinguistics
BF207 - BF209	-	Psychopharmacology
BF501 - BF505		Motivation

James White Library eBook Collections

Other Ebook Sources

World Bank eLibrary

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1 This link opens in a new window Students, educators, and researchers can now engage with a vast resource that connects them to rare and unique documentation of LGBTQ history through fully-searchable newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources. Selection of materials for this milestone digital program is guided by an advisory board consisting of leading scholars and librarians in sexuality and gender studies.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window As the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights. As a comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities will focus on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.

Open Access Books on JSTOR More than 6,500 Open Access ebooks from 85+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.