Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminary Library Portal for Extension Sites

About the James White Library Seminary Collections

About the James White Library Seminary Collections

Mission

James White Library transforms students by facilitating discovery and knowledge creation in order to enrich the SDA Church and the world

Vision

Global scholars made here

Values

Trust, Compassion, Justice, Well-being, Innovation, Integrity, Humility, Hospitality

Greetings from The James White Library where we empower you to discover the information you need and to create new knowledge that will enrich the world. The JWL provides many services connecting you to millions of print and digital resources, most of which are available to you at anytime and from anywhere.  Connect with us in person or online. Our team of librarians, staff and student assistants are here to assist you with finding the information services and resources you need to ensure your academic success. Welcome! And Thank you for choosing Andrews University.

The James White Library Seminary Collection represents approximately 250,000 physical  books, 33,000 bound journal volumes, 200 print subscriptions, and 50,000 microforms. In addition, Seminary students and faculty have full access to all the information resources of Andrews University. This includes a Seminary Reference section with approximately 3200 titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, language tools, commentaries, and historical Texts.

The Seminary Library collection represents well the literatures of the Seminary disciplinary fields, with particular strengths in Biblical Studies and Christian Ministry. All topics of special interest to Seventh-day Adventists are collected exhaustively, and in most of these, James White Library has the largest holdings of any library.

In addition, Seminary patrons have online access to extensive primary sources and global scholarship to facilitate their research.

Of related interest is the Center for Adventist Research, a leading documentary collection for the study of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, its predecessors and related groups, from the Millerite movement of the early nineteenth century to the present. 

The reference collection of the Institute of Archaeology and the Seigfried H. Horn Museum is also represented in the James White Library Catalog.