LibGuides: Teaching Virtues in Higher Education : Articles and Databases

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, and monographs and other materials relevant for education.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window Portal for searching all 20 ProQuest databases.
Sage Premier All-Access Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (website)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.
Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window The Web of Science citation index helps researchers to find, analyze, and share information. It gives links to articles cited in an author's publication and tells which scholars have cited each article.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 19,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. (website)
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Presents multiple sides of over 400 issues. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

Google Scholar Search

Tutorials

Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources

Virtue and Moral Education Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. For psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
APA PsycInfo®‎ This link opens in a new window This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. (1806 - current)
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Adventist Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
Education Source This link opens in a new window Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.