Need help?
Contact your Digital Librarian, Katharine Van Arsdale, at the Center for Adventist Research anytime by emailing vanarsdk@andrews.edu.
About the Adventist Digital Library
The Adventist Digital Library (ADL) project provides free access to a growing collection of digitized Adventist resources both historical and current. The project includes the digital library website, which features books, periodicals, photographs, manuscript collections, videos, audio recordings, and more. It also provides the Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index, which is a database of article-level citations from over 40 Adventist periodicals from the 1970s to the present. Full text article links and PDFs are provided for about half of the citations, with more added regularly. ADL is housed at the Center for Adventist Research, and the project is funded and supported by the General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists, Andrews University, Loma Linda University, and the Association of Seventh-day Adventist Librarians.
- Adventist Digital Library (legacy site)
The original digital library website contains over 88,000 works, including flagship periodicals like the Adventist Review. - Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index
Citations and full-text articles in this database cover Adventist publications from the 1970s to the present.
Search Tips & Tutorials
The Adventist Digital Library (ADL) and Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index (SDAPI) websites provide access to useful primary and secondary sources, but sometimes the search interfaces can be unfamiliar. The tutorials below show how to:
- Search the complete digital library using a broad keyword,
- Filter search results,
- Find a keyword within a periodical issue,
- Search for a keyword phrase, with and without quotation marks,
- Search the SDAPI for relevant article citations that can be read in full text on ADL,
- Browse on ADL directly to a particular periodical title, volume/year, and issue,
- ...and how to browse collections of Adventist periodicals by world region.
Additional Resources
- Center for Adventist Research Manuscript Collections
This database contains descriptions of manuscript collections available to use at the Center for Adventist Research. Some collections are available digitally in whole or part. If you cannot visit the Center for in-person research, contact your Digital Librarian to inquire about online accessibility. - General Conference Online Archives
The Office of Archives, Statistics, and Research is commissioned to preserve all materials produced by the General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists and its departments. The archives houses over 20,000 linear feet of records covering the entire period of the Seventh-day Adventist Church history. Patrons can trace the development of the church through these records, which include legal instruments, minutes, reference files, reports, correspondence, publications, recordings, films, video and audio tapes, and photographs. This site marks the beginning of an effort to place some of the most referenced archival documents in a flexible and expandable online system.
