Recommended Resources for Historical Research
Library Catalogs
-
Digital Public Library of AmericaDPLA makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
-
Google BooksGoogle Books is a service from Google that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database. Google's free books are made available to read through careful consideration of and respect for copyright law globally: they are public-domain works.
-
HathiTrustHathiTrust was founded in 2008 as a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items in the HathiTrust Digital Library. We offer reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
-
Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is an American digital library with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge".
-
Rebok Memorial Library (General Conference)This catalog provides a convenient point of access, but it also is intended to provide a broad overview of what can be found in our vault and on the shelves at the General Conference Archives and Rebok Memorial Library, allowing researchers to get an idea of what we have beyond what is on the online archives, especially as they prepare for a visit to the Archives and Library.
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
Bibliographic Databases
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Databases
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
-
Project MuseProject MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. Open access material is included. After a search, filter by "Only content I have access to" to return freely available results.
-
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries
-
Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement LCP 1670-1800 This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries
From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement
Published in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia -
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). MeL database
-
Harvard DataverseHarvard Dataverse is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data.
- Phone: 269-471-3158