Recommended Resources for Historical Research
International Newspaper Archives
-
Canada - Our OntarioThis collection brings together over 200 years of newspaper titles. 52 community newspapers are presented, representing over 100,000 complete issues, and over 1 million full pages of English and French content. Many of these newspapers have been scanned from microfilm, and are searchable using OCR.
-
Canada - Ontario Community Newspapers Portal200 years of Ontario newspapers, now online. Coverage among the communities varies, but can include:
News article indexing,
Births, Marriages and Deaths (BMD) indexing
Clippings
Full page/issues of newspapers
-
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
State Newspaper Archives
-
American Periodicals Proquest This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
-
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
-
California - Napa County Newspaper ArchiveSelect "Newspapers & Magazines" and then "Napa County Newspaper Archive" to retrieve digitized versions of the Napa Valley Register and other local papers.
-
California Digital Newspaper CollectionThis collection contains 907,305 issues comprising 11,278,441 pages and 49,868,600 articles.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside. -
Connecticut State Library NewspapersSearch and browse this collection of 119 digitized newspapers held by the Connecticut State Library.
-
Maine - Digital Archives of the Thompson Free LibraryDigitized holdings of the Thompson Free Library, including four newspapers and a yearbook.
-
Massachusetts - Boston College NewspapersThis newspaper collection contains 10,282 issues comprising 148,537 pages and 650,273 articles.
-
Michigan - Digital Michigan Newspapers CollectionA comprehensive list of Michigan newspaper titles available online from various institutions including the Clarke Historical Library and Library of Congress.
-
Michigan - Kalamazoo Public Library Historical NewspapersThe Historical Newspapers & Regional Publications database is designed to allow online keyword search of historic newspapers, photographs, and other Kalamazoo Public Library holdings that were previously only available on microfilm. Additional publications will be added as resources allow.
-
Michigan - Lowell LedgerWeekly newspaper serving the city of Lowell and surrounding townships. Browse or search full text from 1870 to 2018. This database is made possible thanks to the Lowell Area Community Fund.
-
Michigan - Otsego Newspaper ArchiveWelcome to the new library newspaper archive. The newspapers here are from 1869-1937. The papers after 1937 are also available but only when you visit the Otsego Public Library.
-
New York - Fulton HistoryDigitized postcards from Fulton, New York, placed online by Thomas Tryniski.
-
New York Historic NewspapersThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. To search the entire collection, use the Search Tab. Or, click on a county to search or browse geographically.
-
New York - Rochester Newspaper IndexThe Rochester Newspaper Index is a project of the Rochester Public Library. The database consists of references to articles that appeared in the Rochester newspapers during the period 1818-1897. The indexing was done in two time periods: 1818 – 1850 and 1851 – 1897. For a list of the newspapers indexed and the abbreviations used, please consult the Frequently Asked Questions. Newspapers from 1898-1903 have been indexed in a card catalog file available in the Local History Division. This portion of the index has not been digitized and is not available online.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new window
This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
Coverage: 1980 - current
-
Oregon - Historic Oregon NewspapersWelcome to Historic Oregon Newspapers. On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). This full-text searchable database contains over 2,300,000 pages from Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2023, and we are continually adding new titles.
-
Pennsylvania Newspaper ArchiveThe Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive is the gateway to the Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable newspaper database. Newspaper titles and holdings will continue to be added as they become available from all 67 counties stretching back to our colonial roots to the present.
-
Vermont - Caledonian Record ArchivesThe Caledonian Record archive contains articles from 1837 to the present, including fully searchable scanned page images from microfilm for the Caledonian (1837-1918), Caledonian-Record (1917-1926) and St. Johnsbury Republican (1907), as well as full-text archives from The Caledonian-Record (1997-current).
-
Vermont Digital Newspaper ProjectThe Vermont Digital Newspaper Project is based at the University of Vermont, and is supported by the Vermont Department of Libraries and the Vermont Historical Society. The Project preserves Vermont's historical newspapers while making them freely available online. Vermont newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 can be searched as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program organized by the Library of Congress.
Religious Periodicals & Newspapers
-
American Religion Denominational Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society.
Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies.
More than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900
-
Baptist and ReflectorThe Tennessee Baptist and its successors served as the Baptist newspaper for Tennessee for most of the 19th century. The Baptist newspaper was not published for the years 1840-1843 and 1863-1866. The Tennessee Baptist went through several name changes in its 19th century history and in 1889 changed its name to Baptist and Reflector, the newspapers’ name as of 2012. The Tennessee Baptist was usually a weekly newspaper.
The Tennessee Baptist/Baptist and Reflector Digital Project is a project of the Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives and the Tennessee Baptist Historical Society. -
Five Colleges of OhioSearch the online collections of Denison, Kenyon, Oberlin, Ohio Wesleyan, and Wooster Colleges.
-
King's BusinessThe King’s Business was a monthly publication of the Bible Institute of Los Angeles from 1910 to 1970. In the first decades of its publication, it was the leading journal for conservative Christianity and the early fundamentalist movement. The King’s Business was one part house organ (reporting the activities of its students in Los Angeles), one part celebrity editorializing (with R. A. Torrey and T. C. Horton reacting to America’s role in the first world war, the depression, prohibition, etc), and one part content provider for the church life of conservative Protestants (publishing vast quantities of Sunday School literature).
-
Sabbath RecorderPresented by the Seventh Day Baptist Historical Library & Archives, this site contains links to the volumes of the Sabbath Recorder, from its initiation in 1844 up to the previous year.
-
True WesleyanArchives of The True Wesleyan, the official news publication of the Wesleyan Methodist Church.
Topic-Based Newspaper Archives
-
Chronicling America (Library of Congress)Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1770-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
-
Google News Archive SearchSearch news in the public domain through Google.
-
Free Labor Advocate, and Antislavery ChronicleVolume 7 of the Free Labor Advocate, and Antislavery Chronicle, published in New Garden, Indiana by Benjamin Stanton, 1841-1847.
-
The Friend of ManFriend of Man is one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements. The periodical is of special significance because with the exception of religion, scholars know little about the resources of social movements in rural areas such as Central New York, where Friend of Man was published. Cornell is truly fortunate to have a close to complete set of Friend of Man, 283 issues, published from 1836 - 1842.
-
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican NewspapersComprising nearly 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.
-
The LiberatorThis is a complete online archive of full issues of William Lloyd Garrison’s newspaper The Liberator (1831-1865), the most prominent periodical of radical Abolitionism in the united states of America. You can find scanned PDF documents of full issues of The Liberator, as well as a number of individual articles, columns and departments from the magazine that have been transcribed in HTML for ease of reading, searching, and linking. This archive is a project in progress, with the ultimate aim being to make all 35 years of The Liberator available in full on the web.
-
The Voice of the FugitiveVoice Of The Fugitive was one of the first black newspapers in Upper Canada that was aimed at fugitive and escaped slaves from the United States. Scanned from microfilm. Publication Dates 1851: January 1st - 1854: July 29th?
-
American Religion Denominational Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society.
Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies.
More than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900
-
Accessible ArchivesDiverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture have been assembled into comprehensive databases. These collections are encyclopedic in scope and allow full Boolean, string and truncated searches. These databases allow access to the rich store of materials from leading books and periodicals of the past.
-
GenealogyBankDiscover Over 15,000 Big City & Small Town Newspapers with coverage from 1690 to the present.
-
NewspaperArchiveNewspaperArchive has content from 16,072 publications and over 3,454 cities from all over the world—big cities, small towns, and everything in between—but we focus on staying close to home with newspaper publications from small towns, where you are more likely to find your family.
-
Newspapers.comThe largest online newspaper archive, established in 2012. Used by millions for genealogy and family history, historical research, crime investigations, journalism, and entertainment. Search for obituaries, marriage announcements, birth announcements, social pages, national and local news articles, sports, advertisements, entertainment, fashion and lifestyle pages, comics, and more.
- Phone: 269-471-3158