Recommended Resources for Historical Research
Audio-Video
- Alexander Street Video - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingDiscover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Watch and listen.
- Associated Press Video ArchiveAccess over 1.7 million news video stories dating back to 1895, sourced from AP's own coverage and our premium content partners.
- Internet Archive TV NewsSEARCH closed captions from US TV News. VIEW clips from 2,569,000 shows since 2009.
SHARE custom show clips and track their popularity. BORROW a USB flash drive of any full show.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is the best video streaming service for quality, thoughtful entertainment. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos that inspire, enrich and entertain. We partner with public libraries and universities to bring you an ad-free experience that can be enjoyed on your TV, mobile phone, tablets and online.
- Television News of the Civil Rights Era, 1950-1970Television News of the Civil Rights Era, 1950-1970, aims to collect, digitize, and present in streaming video format over the World Wide Web television news footage from the period and to make these valuable materials available to scholars, teachers, and students. The current archive contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke. In this initial installment we have digitized over 230 films.
- United Nations Audiovisual LibraryThe Audiovisual Library's mission is to provide access to and preserve the audiovisual archives from over 70 years of the history of the Organization. The AV Library makes the audio, film and video collections widely accessible to UN Offices, UN Family Organizations, professional media organizations, broadcasters, independent producers, governments, institutions and non-governmental organizations, researchers and civil society at large. The Audiovisual Library holdings comprise a hybrid collection with both analog and digital records. The AV collection has over 100,000 physical items with approximately 6,330 hours of 16 and 35mm films, 49,400 hours of video recordings, and 18,000 hours of audio recordings in a wide variety of systems and formats. In addition, our Photo Library also holds approximately 800,000 photographs, with over 90,000 available for high-resolution download.
- Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
- Phone: 269-471-3158