LibGuides: Recommended Resources for Historical Research: Government Records

Government Records

United States - Federal

Bureau of Land Management
United States Department of the Interior Bureau of Land Management General Land Office Records searchable documents online.
CIA FOIA Requests
Submit this form to send a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the Central Intelligence Agency.
FBI FOIA Requests
From this page, submit a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Fold3 - Historical Military Records
Fold3® features premier collections of original military records. These records include the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served in the military. Many of the records come from the U.S. National archives, The National Archives of the U.K. and other international records.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Search over 250,000 librarian-selected resources related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
United States Census QuickFacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

United States - State or Local

Michigan ICHAT
ICHAT is the only public resource for name-based Michigan criminal history background checks.
New Hampshire Criminal History Record Requests
To obtain criminal history record information for records in the state of New Hampshire, submit a request to the New Hampshire State Police through this site.
New York - Albany Public Library Digital Collections
Our historic photos of Albany are among the most popular items in our Local History Room, and we’ve recently begun the work of digitizing them to make them even more accessible. We work in partnership with New York Heritage, an invaluable research portal for anyone interested in learning more about New York State. Check it out for yourself—you never know what gems you will find when you zoom in and take a closer look at images from Albany’s past.
Utah Criminal Records Links
This research guide attempts to identify criminal records currently in the holdings of the Utah State Archives. Researchers can utilize this guide as a quick help in identifying records by common research topics, such as prisoner photographs and mug shot books, records related to the death penalty and executions performed in Utah, inquest records from around the state, and extradition records about criminals both in and out of Utah.

Global

United Nations Digital Library System
Explore documents, votes, speeches, public domain publications, and more.
United Kingdom Parliamentary Archives
The Parliamentary Archives is the official archive of the House of Commons and House of Lords (UK Parliament).

Google Patents
Search and read the full text of patents from around the world.
European Patent Search
Search the records of the European Patent Office.
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Search the Trademark Status & Document Retrieval (TSDR) database with US Serial, Registration, or Reference Number.