Proper Citation
Encyclopedia--with signed articles
APA
Smith, J. I. (2005). Afterlife: An overview. In Encyclopedia of religion (Vol. 1, pp. 128-135). Detroit, MI: Macmillian Reference USA.
Turabian:
Smith, Jane I. "Afterlife: An Overview." Encyclopedia of Religion. 2nd ed. Detroit, MI: Macmillian Reference USA, 2005. 1:128-135.
Definition
Tertiary sources provide general facts and bibliography about the topic. Examples include encyclopedias, dictionaries, language tools, and textbooks.
Citations must include the authors, titles, and page numbers of the articles within the reference work
Assignment requirements: minumum of three
Resources
The following resources are recommended:
Seminary Reference Collection:
- Buddhism -- LC Call Numbers: BQ
- Hinduism -- LC Call Numbers: BL1105
- Islam -- LC Call Numbers: BP1-300
- New Age -- LC Call Numbers: BP601-605
- Religions -- LC Call Numbers: BL31
Online Reference Works
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Searching 3,437,135 full text articles in 805 reference books
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). MeL database
