MSSN561 Working Bibliography: Evaluation Criteria

Enter bibliographic information accurately following one of the following styles

• Turabian
• APA 6th

Grade based on 200 points. Maximum points possible:

The following types of literature must be included (30 pts possible):

• Primary Sources (2 pts each for the first three): These provide the textual data for the research paper. They are defined by disciplinary conventions and the research question; in this case, sources written by adherents for adherents, including the historical scriptures.

• Secondary Sources (2 pts each for the first nine): These provide discussion and analysis of the topic.

• Tertiary Sources (2 pts each for the first three): These provide general facts and bibliography about the topic. Examples include encyclopedias, dictionaries, language tools, and textbooks. To receive credit, citations must include the authors, titles, and page numbers of the articles within the reference work

The intended audience of the work is significant. This categorization does not apply to primary sources. (45 pts. needed/ 60 pts. possible)

• Academic/Professional Audience (3 pts)
• General Reader Audience (0 pt)

Accessing a range of formats of literature is important in a working bibliography. This refers to the general category of literature, rather than the delivery method, i.e. paper vs. digital.

• Books (2 pts each for the first five)
• Journal Articles (2 pts for the first five)

Currency (Year) is important in a working bibliography. Recent works reflect the current state of scholarship, as well as more likely providing an overview of prior scholarship. This categorization does not apply to primary sources. (55 pts. needed/ 60 pts. possible)

• 2011 to present (3 pts)
• 1986-2010 (2 pts)
• 1961-1985 (1 pt)

Indicate a pre-reading evaluation using the terms provided below. No points will be given if all entries are labeled the same. Sources for pre-reading evaluation include cover information and publisher title publicity for books; and abstracts for periodicals. (20 pts., 1 pt. per correct entry)

• essential
• promising
• maybe

For proof of access, copy/paste the link to the library record or to the periodical database record. When appropriate, you can indicate personal ownership. Because of the time limits imposed by the semester system, delimit your search to the library catalog and MelCat for books, and to the ATLA Religion database and the EBSCO Academic Search Complete for articles. (20 pts., 1 pt. per correct entry)

Who is paying for the work to be available for your use? In the pre-reading evaluation of materials, it deserves consideration to be aware if you are paying for the item, or whether some one else is paying for you to have access. If "they" are paying, why should you be interested? This question is significant particularly for primary internet sources. Credible and authenticated religious organizations posting content for the education of adherents is acceptible. Credit will not be given for unidentifiable publishers. (20 pts., 1 pt. per correct entry)