Library Resources for Social Work: Tests and Measures
Tests and Measurements
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) includes full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments, plus all previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews). All MMY entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY via EBSCOhost now includes the MMY Archive, providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938 through the present edition.
-
Assessment Psychology Online Guide to valid, reliable, and authoritative information about psychological assessment/ testing, and practice management for practicing psychologists. APO also provides helpful information for students, educators, practitioners in allied mental health, and primary healthcare providers.
-
Depression, Anxiety, and Stress Scales (DASS) The DASS is a 42-item self-report instrument designed to measure the three related negative emotional states of depression, anxiety, and tension/stress. It may be downloaded at no cost.
-
RAND Health Surveys Many health-related surveys assess patients' health, screening for mental health conditions, and measuring quality of care and quality of life. Many of these surveys are intended for the general population but can be tailored to specific groups, such as the elderly, Medicaid recipients, veterans, and families with small children.
-
Self-Management Resource Center SMRC's self-management programs help people and their caregivers control their symptoms, better manage their health problems, and lead fuller lives (website).
Search for Tests and Measurements
If you don't know what test or measure you want to use, these different methods may help you to find one.
1. Search the Mental Measurements Yearbook online database for test reviews.
2. Search library databases for articles and other publications, including ProQuest Dissertation and Theses. Look for the tests or measures related to your topic that other researchers have used. Check the appendix.
3. Search Google. Do a "Google Advanced Search," where you can narrow your search by domain - for example, the name of the scale/test/measurement or author, and limit the search by domain, such as edu.
4. Browse the library catalog for your topic and add the following terms:
behavioral assessment
educational tests and measurements
intelligence tests
personality tests
psychological tests
psychometrics
5. Browse library shelves for books:
BF39 - BF39.2 (psychometrics)
BF176 -BF176.5 (psychological tests)
LB3051 - LB3060 (educational tests & measurements)
Books on Tests, Measurements, Scales
-
Assessing Intelligence in Children and Adolescents
by
This practical guide to the intellectual assessment of children and adolescents in schools is widely used by practicing school psychologists and instructors and students in graduate school psychology programs. This second edition includes evidence-based best practices for the use and interpretation of intelligence tests in decision-making by counselors, teachers, administrators, and other school personnel. While the assessment of intelligence has long been mandated by law for eligibility determination for special education and related services, there is widespread disagreement about the use and interpretation of intelligence tests. This is the only intellectual assessment book to address this issue by critically reviewing the scientific evidence regarding the critical role played by intelligence tests in the schools for the determination of eligibility for special education and related services, alongside the plethora of practical information. New to this edition: New chapter that reviews the methodology used in research on interventions that target cognitive abilities, and the results of that research, as well as literature on aptitude-by-treatment interactions in the cognitive domain New chapter on the WISC-V, its history, and an in-depth description of its organization, materials, and scores, for both the traditional administration format and the new Q-interactive format New section titled, "Where in the Brain is Intelligence?" as well as expanded discussions of contemporary training programs designed to increase intelligence Revised Screening Tool for Assessment forms to address English language proficiency and acculturation Updated entries for four intelligence tests and added an entry for the Detroit Test of Learning Abilities, Fifth Edition (Hammill, McGhee, & Ehrler, 2018). Added sections focused on test accommodations and behavior management during testing Recommendations for incorporating emergent assessment technology (e.g., tablet-based test administration). New content addressing different styles of reports as well as a summary of new recommendations from the recently published Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition (2019). Review of the most recent ethical guidelines from the American Psychological Association and the National Association of School Psychologists
Call Number: BF432.C48 K73 2020ISBN: 9781538127155Publication Date: 2020-08-25 -
Handbook of Test Development
by
The second edition of the Handbook of Test Development provides graduate students and professionals with an up-to-date, research-oriented guide to the latest developments in the field. Including thirty-two chapters by well-known scholars and practitioners, it is divided into five sections, covering the foundations of test development, content definition, item development, test design and form assembly, and the processes of test administration, documentation, and evaluation. Keenly aware of developments in the field since the publication of the first edition, including changes in technology, the evolution of psychometric theory, and the increased demands for effective tests via educational policy, the editors of this edition include new chapters on assessing noncognitive skills, measuring growth and learning progressions, automated item generation and test assembly, and computerized scoring of constructed responses. The volume also includes expanded coverage of performance testing, validity, fairness, and numerous other topics. Edited by Suzanne Lane, Mark R. Raymond, and Thomas M. Haladyna, The Handbook of Test Development, 2nd edition, is based on the revised Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing, and is appropriate for graduate courses and seminars that deal with test development and usage, professional testing services and credentialing agencies, state and local boards of education, and academic libraries serving these groups.
Call Number: LB3051 .H31987 2016ISBN: 9780415626019Publication Date: 2015-11-02 -
Designing Effective Assessments
by
Call Number: LB3051. S882 2017ISBN: 9781936763702Publication Date: 2017-01-27Assessment is a critical component of effective teaching and learning. Designed specifically for K-12 educators, this title presents ten key assessment design tools and clearly outlines how to incorporate each tool into daily classroom practices. With quality assessment processes in place, teachers at all grade levels can accurately measure student mastery and shape instruction to increase achievement. -
Handbook of Psychological Assessment
by
Call Number: BF176. G76 2016ISBN: 9781118960646Publication Date: 2016-05-02Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
- Phone: 269-471-3158