General Open Access Dissertations
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
- WorldCat Dissertations Search WorldCat.org and specify Dissertation in the Content field
Regional Open Access Dissertations
The following list of databases provide access to regional dissertations and theses. The list does not include single institution repositories.
- DART-Europe E-theses Portal DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
- DiVA: Academic Archive On-line DiVA portal is a finding tool and an institutional repository for research publications and student theses written at 30 universities and colleges of higher education in Scandinavia.
- EthOS EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
- National ETD Portal: South African theses and dissertations Provides access to ETDs produced in South Africa.
- TEL (thèses-en-ligne) French language database of dissertations and theses
- Theses Canada Canadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada. Library and Archives Canada (LAC) staff are happy to provide advice to Canadian universities that are establishing electronic theses and dissertations (ETD) programs and welcome new electronic participants.
First Stop
To find dissertations from North American universities:
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
AU Digital Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertations & Theses @ Andrews University This link opens in a new window Most Ph.D. dissertations, selected D.Min. dissertations, but does not include M.A. theses. 1976-present. Licensed database, requires authentication with AU username and password.
Undergraduate Research Commons
The Undergraduate Research Commons (URC) is a portal showcasing outstanding published works authored by thousands of undergraduate students.
