DIS Research Guide
Terry Robertson
Contact:
James White Library
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
269-471-3269
Website
SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT
Please indicate your preference on the scheduling form:
a) via Zoom
b) in-person, James White Library, Rm 275
Periodical Databases for Religious Studies
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window The database provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars.
- Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. Coverage: 1986 - current
- Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window We provide objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. We list a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. We provide English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and Boston College, this database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
- Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index This link opens in a new window The Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index provides citation indexing to over 40 past and present Seventh-day Adventist journals and magazines. The Index was first published in 1971. Currently the index covers the years 1973 to current, with updating done in real time.
General Academic Periodical Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Licensed database, AU username and password required for access from off campus. This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. The capacity of content within this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
- Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window Licensed database, AU username and password required for access from off campus. The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.
Publisher Databases
James White Library subscribes to several publisher collections. Those listed below have the most relevant content for D.Min. areas of research.
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers in order to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (website)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 19,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. (website)
Open Access Periodical Databases in Religious Studies
- Adventist Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
- Anthropological Index Online The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) in cooperation with Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. It is an index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. The Library, which incorporates the former RAI library, holds some 4,000 periodical titles (1,500 current) covering all branches and areas of anthropology. Nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present.
- General Conference of SDA Online Archives The General Conference Archives contains one of the largest and most complete collections of English-language Seventh-day Adventist periodicals to be found anywhere. There are over 100 titles available full-text online, many of them beginning with the first issue. Other online resources are also available on the site.
- Index theologicus: Zeitschrifteninhaltsdienst Theologie This database contains document descriptions from more than 600 periodicals and from Festschriften and congress publications.
- Theological Journals Search This search engine targets over 1,000 Web sites/pages to retrieve full text articles from hundreds of open access journals and other periodicals related to religious studies, scripture studies, systematic theology, practical theology, and cognate disciplines.
General Academic Open Access Periodical Databases
- Electronic Journals Library The Electronic Journals Library was founded in 1997 by the University Library of Regensburg in co-operation with the Technische Universität München University Library within the framework of a project.
- Journal TOCS JournalTOCs is the largest searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). It contains articles' metadata of TOCs for over 28,374 journals directly collected from over 2744 publishers.
- Latindex Es producto de la cooperación de una red de instituciones que funcionan de manera coordinada para reunir y diseminar información bibliográfica sobre las publicaciones científicas seriadas producidas en la región.
- Semantic Scholar Cut through the clutter. Find peer-reviewed research from the world's most trusted sources
Finding Articles from Citations
To find an article from a citation, use the "Find articles" guide.
Andrews University Journals
- Andrews University Seminary Student Journal The Andrews University Seminary Student Journal (AUSSJ), established in 2014, is an online, open access, multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that is led, edited, and reviewed by a team of doctoral students and faculty members of the Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary at Andrews University. The purpose of the journal is to disseminate scholarly contributions of graduate students. Submissions may be made in the area of Systematic Theology, Philosophy, Ethics, Hebrew Bible, Jewish Studies, New Testament, Archaeology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Church History, Applied Theology, Mission, and Religious Education.
- Journal of Research on Christian Education The Journal of Research on Christian Education (JRCE) provides a vehicle for the scholarly interchange of research findings relative to every level of Christian education. Particular emphasis is given to Christian schooling within the Protestant tradition as well as to research findings from other traditions which have implications for such schools.
Academic Social Media
Web sites with social media features intended for academic scholars who are self-archiving their work, including many representatives in the fields of religion, theology, philosophy and related disciplines.
- Phone: 269-471-3158