Library Resources for Chemistry & Biochemistry: Articles
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, and monographs and other materials relevant for education.
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers in order to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (website)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
- Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window The Web of Science citation index helps researchers to find, analyze, and share information. It gives links to articles cited in an author's publication and tells which scholars have cited each article.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals.
Research Engines
- Semantic Scholar Cut through the clutter. Find peer-reviewed research from the world's most trusted sources
Tutorials
- Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources
Review Journals
- Advances in Photochemistry Annual shelved in book stacks.
- Fortschritte der Chemischen Forschung The James White Library doesn't subscribe to this title. See Interlibrary Loan.
- Organic Reaction Mechanisms Not available in James White Library. See Interlibrary Loan.
- Organic Reactions Annual. Shelved in the book stacks.
- Topics in Current Chemistry Not available in James White Library. See Interlibrary Loan.
- Topics in Stereochemistry Limited availability in James White Library. See Interlibrary Loan.
Databases
- American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window ACS Publications support the American Chemical Society's goal to be the most authoritative, comprehensive, and indispensable provider of chemistry-related information
- Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window Citation features help you find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
- MedLine This link opens in a new window MEDLINE® contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world..
- AMA Manual of Style This link opens in a new window The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have guide for anyone involved in medical and scientific publishing.
Print Periodicals
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
- SYNLETT No James White Library subscription. See Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan
If an article is not available full text in the database you are using, use the "Finding Articles from Citations Guide". If you do not find the article online, request the article from the James White Library Interlibrary Loan office.
- Finding articles from citations You find a citation for a journal article without a pdf attached. Sources: library database, book, other journal article, professor's recommendation. How can you access it?
Academic Social Media
Web sites with social media features intended for academic scholars who are self-archiving their work.
- Phone: 269-471-3158