LibGuides: Visual Art and Design: Getting Started

Library Catalogs

James White Library Home Page
MeLCat Statewide (Michigan) union catalog and borrowing system.
MyLibrary Account
Digital Commons @ Andrews University

Tutorials

Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is the academic part of Google. It includes links to books, articles, and other documents. Set your preferences to James White Library to take advantage of the links to our full-text journals.

Best Bets

To find articles and dissertations:

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Covers fine, decorative, and commercial arts. Also covers architecture and architectural design. Features full text articles and indexing and abstracts for journals, books, podcasts, and more. Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Finding the Text of Articles

If you need to find the text of an article, search Periodicals A-Z for the periodical title. To find out how, read the pdf guide or watch the powerpoint slides.