Visual Art and Design: Articles
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, and monographs and other materials relevant for education.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
- Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window The Web of Science citation index helps researchers to find, analyze, and share information. It gives links to articles cited in an author's publication and tells which scholars have cited each article.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals.
Google Scholar Search
Tutorials
- Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources
Art Databases
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Covers fine, decorative, and commercial arts. Also covers architecture and architectural design. Features full text articles and indexing and abstracts for journals, books, podcasts, and more. Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts & humanities
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Broad coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Content derives from leading trade journals, professional and technical society publications, and conference proceedings.
- Michigan Authors and Illustrators This link opens in a new window Use the database to find out about Michigan authors! You can look for non-fiction, poetry, mysteries, romance, children’s books and much more. You can find authors for presentations and visits. This is a great source for students looking for Michigan authors to read and for librarians or teachers looking for Michigan authors to do events or for collection development.
Print Periodicals
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
Interlibrary Loan
If an article is not available at James White Library, it may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is offered to University students, faculty, and staff for the purpose of acquiring research materials to support their curricular needs. The requestor must have a currently validated Andrews University ID and be a JWL user in good standing.
- Phone: 269-471-3158