Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia--with signed articles
Smith, J. I. (2005). Afterlife: An overview. In Encyclopedia of religion (Vol. 1, pp. 128-135). Detroit, MI: Macmillian Reference USA.
Smith, Jane I. "Afterlife: An Overview." Encyclopedia of Religion. 2nd ed. Detroit, MI: Macmillian Reference USA, 2005. 1:128-135.
Tertiary sources provide general facts and bibliography about the topic. Examples include encyclopedias, dictionaries, language tools, and textbooks.
Citations must include the authors, titles, and page numbers of the articles within the reference work.
The following resources are recommended:
Seminary Reference Collection:
- Buddhism -- LC Call Numbers: BQ
- Hinduism -- LC Call Numbers: BL1105
- Islam -- LC Call Numbers: BP1-300
- New Age -- LC Call Numbers: BP601-605
- Religions -- LC Call Numbers: BL31
Online Reference Works
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searching 3,437,135 full text articles in 805 reference books
Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.