LibGuides: MSSN561 Library Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Proper citation

Journal Article

APA

Walsh, M. J. (2007). The economics of salvation: Toward a theory of exchange in Chinese Buddhism. Journal Of The American Academy Of Religion, 75(2), 354-382.

Turabian

Walsh, Michael J. "The Economics of Salvation: Toward a Theory of Exchange in Chinese Buddhism." Journal Of The American Academy Of Religion 75, no. 2 (2005): 354-382.

Book

APA

Owen, S. (2008). The appropriation of Native American spirituality. New York: Continuum.

Turabian

Owen, Suzanne. The Appropriation of Native American Spirituality. Continuum Advances in Religious Studies. New York: Continuum, 2008.

Definition

Secondary sources provide discussion and analysis of the topic. For the purposes of this class, these will include books from reputable academic publishers and articles from recognized peer reviewed academic journals.

Resources

James White Library Home Page
MeLCat Statewide (Michigan) union catalog and borrowing system.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window The database provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index This link opens in a new window The Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index provides citation indexing to over 40 past and present Seventh-day Adventist journals and magazines.  The Index was first published in 1971. Currently the index covers the years 1973 to current, with updating done in real time.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window