LibGuides: Information Literacy Programs: Home

Information Literacy MENU

INTRODUCTORY LEVEL

ADVANCED LEVEL

GRADUATE LEVEL

Navigating the Library’s Homepage

How to find books on the shelves using the Library of Congress classification system.
How to find Books, Ebooks, Reference Books, articles and more using the library’s online catalog.
Using the library’s services and finding tools (Libguides, Interlibrary Loan, Tutorials, Periodicals A-Z, Ask-A-Librarian, Consultation one-on-one
Using the Refine options of the Catalog
Information Literacy Program (Credo’s Instruct)

Using Different Sources for Your Research

Finding background information
Scholarly Journals, magazines, newspapers, trade publications
Types of sources: Primary, Secondary, Tertiary
Finding news
Identifying fake news
How to determine the reliability of a web site
Ethics in information use. How to avoid plagiarism

Finding Resources Using the Databases

Introduction to databases
How to find databases in JWL’s webpage
General tools provided by the databases
Identifying key-words and related narrower/broader terms
Introduction to Boolean Logic
Introduction to search strategies

Advanced Database Search

Choosing a topic using mind map
Determining a manageable topic
Using the subject guides to find databases & other resources
Using specific databases customized for your assignment

Advanced Search Strategies

Developing search strategies
Limiting and broadening the search
Using thesaurus, controlled vocabulary, and subject headings
Identifying Different types of studies (expert opinion, case study, systematic review, etc.)
Integrating information from different sources (Using Google Scholar)

Evaluating and Citing Sources

How to determine the reliability of a website
How to identify scholarly articles
Ethics in information use (Academic Integrity)
Citing Sources in APA, MLA, and Turabian)
How to use Endnote

Structuring Your Research

Developing the proposal for IRB
Developing the research questions
Writing the literature review
AU Standards for Written Works
Creating a research Diary
Data Management/Archives

Using Specialized Databases

Using Specialized Databases (Web of Science, ERIC, PubMed, JSTOR, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis)
Advanced search strategies
Setting up an article alert system
Measuring the quality of research (Determining reliability)
How to identify a scholarly paper

Publishing your Research

Identifying high impact journals
The publishing life-cycle
Copyright
Academic Integrity
Citation Management Tool (Endnote)
Managing the scholarly online persona
Scientific collaboration tools

Information Literacy Modules (CREDO)

Information Literacy Programs

This Module presents six general topics, including videos, tutorials, Quizzes, and pre and pos tests.

The general topics are:

Getting Started with Research
Sources of Information
Searching for Information
Evaluating Information
Presenting Research & Data
Citations and Academic Integrity

Resources for Faculty

As Faculty, you can integrate Credo's resources, Information Literacy and Critical Thinking more deeply into your courses. If you would like to use this tool in your courses, please click on the link below to access the Credo Resources guide that the DLiT department has created.

This guide offers a demo of all the resources that are available to you, and you can simply import them into your course(s).

If you need further instructions or have questions, please contact DLiT at (269) 471-3960.

Tutorials and Activities

This page includes links to background information, articles,

activities and other tools to teach Information Literacy

Critical Thinking Modules (CREDO)

This module presents the complete Credo's Critical Thinking course for students. The main Sections are:

Culture and Citizenship - One quiz and 4 videos covering:

Introduction to Civic Action;

Introduction to Civic Engagement;

Global Citizenship;

Introduction to Cultural Issues;

Research and Source Evaluation Strategies - 6 videos covering:

Creating a Research Plan;

Framing a Problem;

Identifying Search Strategies;

Purpose and Value of Evidence;

Types of Resources;

Bias and Assumption;

Using Critical Thinking and Logic - 6 videos covering:

Evidence Based Reasoning;

Inquiry;

Importance of Logical Reasoning;

Introduction to analysis;

Why Thinking Matters;

Synthesis;

Visual and Quantitative Literacy - 5 videos covering:

Why Does Visual Literacy Matter?;

Interpreting images;

Searching for Images;

Using Quantitative Data;

Evaluating Statistics;

Writing and Communication - 5 videos covering:

Why Teamwork Matters;

Academic Writing;

Preparing for a Presentation;

Understanding the Communication Need;

Written Communication:

Training Options

The library can provide several options to assist your students to develop information literacy skills.

Have a librarian present a workshop or a series of workshops in your class
Make an appointment with a librarian to take your class to the library's lab for one or more workshops
Embed specific topics (tutorials, videos, quizzes) into your Moodle syllabus
Plan a group video presentation using Zoom or Skype
Require students to take the self-paced CREDO's Instruct and Critical Thinking modules here.

Reference / Database / Off-campus Services Librarian

Silas Marques

Email Me

Contact:

Room 222, Main Floor, James White Library

(269) 471-6263