This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content

How to use my mobile device for accessing library resources?: Main

Section 1 iconDiscover James White Library on Your Mobile Device - Use EBSCO Mobile App

Andrews University students, faculty, and staff can use the EBSCO Mobile app to explore library resources on their mobile devices. The app provides seamless access to the library’s catalog and online subscriptions through Discovery search, bringing search results together in one place. With its easy-to-use interface, the EBSCO Mobile app makes research more accessible—anytime and anywhere.

Section 2 iconQuick Start - Signing in to the App

  1. Open the App, and tap Access with your institution.

  2. Use Find your institution feature to select ANDREWS UNIVERSITY.

  3. Type ANDREWS UNIVERSITY in the search box, or tap Use my location, and the app will find libraries near your physical location and select ANDREWS UNIVERSITY.

  4. 4. Tap Connect your institution, and you will be ported to the Andrews University login page. Use your Andrews University credentials, and you can start using app.

    You only need to log in to the app once. The app remembers your login credentials and you are automatically authenticated for future sessions.

Section 4 icon The Home Screen

After logging in to the App, you see the Home screen. You can return to the Home screen at any time by tapping the icon in the menu at the bottom of the screen.

From the App's Home screen:

  • Start Searching: The first time you log into the app, tap Start a Search in the Welcome area to get started.
  • Recently viewed:Swipe to the left to see the articles and eBooks you have recently viewed while using the app. Tap an article to view it again.
  • Recommended for you:Swipe to the left to view recommendations based on the most recent articles and eBooks you have viewed.
  • Discover recent subjects:Tap a subject in the Discover recent subjectsarea to execute a search of articles related to that subject. Subjects in this area are displayed based on articles you have viewed while using the app.

Section 5 icon Searching using the App

To search using the App:

  1. Tap the Magnifying Glass in the menu at the bottom of the screen to access the Search screen.

  2. Enter your search terms in the Search Box. As you type, the app suggests search terms you can tap to quickly run a search.

  3. Tap a filter (Peer Reviewed, Full Text, Date Range) to apply it to your search.

    Note: After running your search, the Source Type filter is also available below the search box.

  4. When you tap to add a Date filter, you can select Custom range and use the number keypad to enter a date range for your results.

    After entering a date range, tap the screen to close the keypad and tap Apply to add it to your search.

  5. Tap Search on your device's keyboard to run the search.

  6. Your results are displayed. Tap an article or book title to see the details and read the full text, when available.

    You can also long-press on any result (excluding eBooks) to access the full-text viewing options without having to navigate to the article detail page.

Section 6 icon Reading Articles on the App

Reading Articles on the App

To read articles on the App:

  1. On the article screen, select to Read More of the abstract, or scroll down to view the article Details (article citation information).

    Tap Access options (full text of the article, when available).

    Note: The Access options feature will not appear when full text for the article is not available.

  2. When you select to read the full text, select from the formats available to you.

More like this

  • The More like this tab on the detailed record for an article or eBook recommends other items related to the one you are viewing.

    Tap an article or eBook in the list to view the detailed record and access the Full text, when available.

Section 7 icon Bookmarking Articles in the App

To Bookmark articles in the App:

  1. From an article page or the result list, tap the Bookmark icon.

  2. The article is saved and the icon changes to a solid color.

  3. If you wish to remove the article from your Bookmarked articles, simply tap the icon again.

Viewing Your Bookmarked Articles in the App

To view your Bookmarked articles:

  1. Tap the Bookmark icon at the bottom of the screen to view your Saved articles.

  2. Tap an article title on the Saved items tab of the Dashboard to read it.

Section 8 icon A Personal Account

When signed in to the app with Andrews University credentials, the app links to your library account. Saved items and search history from the MyEBSCO folder in My Account on a computer are automatically synchronized and available within the app.

Section 10 iconSharing Articles from the the App

The EBSCO Mobile App enables you to share articles using your device's sharing menu.

To share articles from the EBSCO Mobile App (iOS version):

  1. From an article page or the result list, tap the Share icon.

  2. Select the desired method to share the article from your device's available options. (Message, Email, etc.)

Section 9 icon Navigating Subjects and Authors in the App

The EBSCO Mobile App enables you to browse subjects of interest based on your searches and articles you have viewed as well as perform article searches for the author or authors of the article you are viewing.

Discover Recent Subjects

From the home screen of the app, you can tap a subject in the Discover recent subjects area to execute a search of articles related to that subject. Subjects in this area are displayed based on articles you have viewed while using the app.

Article Detail View Subjects

From an article's detail view, you can tap a subject to view a result list of all articles related to that subject. You can swipe to the left to reveal all available subjects.

Author Searches from the Detail View

From an article’s detail view, you can also perform a search for more articles from the author or authors of the article. Simply tap a hyperlinked author name under Details at the bottom of an article’s detail view.

 

This instructional guide incorporates content adapted from the EBSCO Discovery Support Portal, EBSCO Connect.

 

James White Library
  • Phone: 269-471-3158