- Andrews University
- LibGuides
- Religion and Theology Open Access Resources
- Taming the Internet
Religion and Theology Open Access Resources: Taming the Internet
Introduction
Students now have access to huge libraries of material over the internet. The challenge is how to find something useful. How can we teach and model the taming of the internet? This session will share a strategy for finding good results.
Digital Commons @ Andrews University
- Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary on the Digital Commons @ Andrews UniversityDissertations, Theses, Project Documents, Faculty Publications, Books, Journals, and Events representing the scholarship of the SDATS
Historical and Special Collections in Religion and Theology
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) The mission of the CCEL is to build up the church by making classic Christian writings available and promoting their use.
- Ellen G. White Writings One of the founders of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, Ellen G. White was a prolific writer whose works inspired and ministered to her contemporaries, and yet her timeless insight and wisdom continue to bless her readers.
- GlobeTheoLib Requires individual registration, no cost to user. The Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism [GlobeTheoLib] is a multilingual online library offering access free of charge to more than 650'000 full-text articles, journals, books and other resources. Its focus is on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity.
- Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) is very proud to present the Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library, a free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s in the Judean Desert along the western shore of the Dead Sea – are now available to the public online.
- Post-Reformation Digital Library The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research of Calvin Theological Seminary.
- Open Access Digital Theological Library The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced library discovery cataloging and discovery system, OCLC’s WorldShare, to make content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
Additional Open Access Databases for E-books
National/Regional Online Archives
- BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (Germany) BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. German Langauge Resource
- Digital Public Library of America A Wealth of Knowledge: explore 4,484,077 items from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.
- Europeana Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections
- Gallica Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plus de 2 millions de documents.
- TROVE: National Library of Australia Find and get over 362,439,667 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more
Open Access Databases
- Electronic Journals Library The Electronic Journals Library was founded in 1997 by the University Library of Regensburg in co-operation with the Technische Universität München University Library within the framework of a project.
- Journal TOCS JournalTOCs is the largest searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). It contains articles' metadata of TOCs for over 28,374 journals directly collected from over 2744 publishers.
- Latindex Es producto de la cooperación de una red de instituciones que funcionan de manera coordinada para reunir y diseminar información bibliográfica sobre las publicaciones científicas seriadas producidas en la región.
- Open Access Digital Theological Library The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced library discovery cataloging and discovery system, OCLC’s WorldShare, to make content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
Related Open Access Databases
- Adventist Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
- AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 121,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
- Adventist Theological Society We are an international, professional, nonprofit organization established as a theological resource for the Seventh-day Adventist Church. Some of our values include: Exploring Scripture in order to better understand it; and promoting sound biblical scholarship among Seventh-day Adventist scholars, theologians, teachers, pastors, and Bible students. The Society affirms the Bible and the Bible alone as the foundation of its scholarship and activities. As students of God’s Word we accept that all Scripture is inspired and that God reveals Himself to those who come to it with humble hearts. We recognize that our view of God’s Word and the centrality of the Gospel in its message are critical to the theological task before us. The Society accepts the beliefs of the Seventh-day Adventist Church as its theological position and adheres to the Church’s voted “Methods of Bible Study” as its hermeneutical position.
- Anthropological Index Online The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) in cooperation with Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. It is an index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. The Library, which incorporates the former RAI library, holds some 4,000 periodical titles (1,500 current) covering all branches and areas of anthropology. Nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present.
- General Conference of SDA Online Archives The General Conference Archives contains one of the largest and most complete collections of English-language Seventh-day Adventist periodicals to be found anywhere. There are over 100 titles available full-text online, many of them beginning with the first issue. Other online resources are also available on the site.
- Index theologicus: Zeitschrifteninhaltsdienst Theologie This database contains document descriptions from more than 600 periodicals and from Festschriften and congress publications.
- RAMBI Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel.
- Religious Studies Web Guide This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion.
- Theological Journals Search This search engine targets over 1,000 Web sites/pages to retrieve full text articles from hundreds of open access journals and other periodicals related to religious studies, scripture studies, systematic theology, practical theology, and cognate disciplines.
Open Access Dissertation Databases
The following list of databases provide access to dissertations and theses. The list does not include single institution repositories.
- Center for Research Libraries Foreign Dissertations CRL has catalog records for over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations
- DART-Europe E-theses Portal DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
- DiVA: Academic Archive On-line DiVA portal is a finding tool and an institutional repository for research publications and student theses written at 30 universities and colleges of higher education in Scandinavia.
- Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM) is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Currently containing over 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of all earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world, the database is fully searchable.
- EthOS EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
- National ETD Portal: South African theses and dissertations Provides access to ETDs produced in South Africa.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
- Research in Ministry (RIM) Online This link opens in a new window A searchable database of indexes and abstracts for doctoral projects and theses from programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).
- TEL (thèses-en-ligne) French language database of dissertations and theses
- Theses Canada Canadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada. Library and Archives Canada (LAC) staff are happy to provide advice to Canadian universities that are establishing electronic theses and dissertations (ETD) programs and welcome new electronic participants.
- WorldCatDissertations This link opens in a new window This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Subject Guide
Terry Robertson
Contact:
James White Library
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
269-471-3269
Website
Academic Social Media
Web sites with social media features intended for academic scholars who are self-archiving their work, including many representatives in the fields of religion, theology, philosophy and related disciplines.
- Phone: 269-471-3158