Dissertations and Theses Research Guide: Home
Dissertation Databases
- Center for Research Libraries Foreign Dissertations CRL has catalog records for over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations
The following list of databases provide access to dissertations and theses. The list does not include single institution repositories.
- DART-Europe E-theses Portal DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
- DiVA: Academic Archive On-line DiVA portal is a finding tool and an institutional repository for research publications and student theses written at 30 universities and colleges of higher education in Scandinavia.
- Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM) is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Currently containing over 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of all earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world, the database is fully searchable.
- EthOS EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
- National ETD Portal: South African theses and dissertations Provides access to ETDs produced in South Africa.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
- Research in Ministry (RIM) Online This link opens in a new window A searchable database of indexes and abstracts for doctoral projects and theses from programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).
- TEL (thèses-en-ligne) French language database of dissertations and theses
- Theses Canada Canadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada. Library and Archives Canada (LAC) staff are happy to provide advice to Canadian universities that are establishing electronic theses and dissertations (ETD) programs and welcome new electronic participants.
Bibliography
- ETDs, scholarly communication, and campus collaborationFyffe, R., & Welburn, W. C. (2008). ETDs, scholarly communication, and campus collaboration. College & Research Libraries News, 69(3), 152-155.
- Knowledge discovery in digital libraries of electronic theses and dissertations: an NDLTD case studyRichardson, W., Srinivasan, V., & Fox, E. (2008). Knowledge discovery in digital libraries of electronic theses and dissertations: an NDLTD case study. International Journal on Digital Libraries, 9(2), 163-171.
- Fyffe, Richard, and William C. Welburn. “ETDs, Scholarly Communication, and Campus Collaboration.”College & Research Libraries News 69, no. 3 (2008): 152-155.
Description
Most Andrews University Ph.D. Dissertations are available in digital format for download. Beginning in 1976, Ph.D. dissertations are available through ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, a licensed database requiring AU authentication. Most of those written since 2010, including M. A. theses, are available online through the James White Library Catalog, and can be viewed from any computer with access to the internet.
Background
Beginning around the turn of the 21st century, major universities began experimenting with open access institutional repositories and included in them the theses and dissertations produced within them. Since then, the open access electronic publishing of theses and dissertations has become the standard practice, with international universities broadly represented.
Andrews University experimented with a standard open source repository software beginning in 2007, but the contents were inadvertently lost in late 2008. New and emerging capacities included in the library catalog software made it possible to use the catalog as a repository for the theses and dissertations. This practice became standardized in late 2009.
Find AU Digital Dissertations and Theses
Find digital copies of AU dissertations and theses in the following sites:
- Digital Commons @ Andrews University Andrews University Institutional Repository
- Dissertations & Theses @ Andrews University This link opens in a new window This ProQuest database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Andrews University.
- Andrews University Digital Library of Dissertations and Theses Entries from Library Catalog
SDA Dissertations and Theses Project
This bibliography is a work in progress. Special thanks to Jón Hjörleifur Stefánsson, who has compiled most of the entries.
The bibliography lists theses and dissertations completed at a Seventh-day Adventist university. If a thesis or dissertations is available open access at the granting institution, a link is provided.
SDA universities not represented on the list are cordially invited to participate with this project.
Send any corrections or updates to Terry Robertson, James White Library, Andrews University, email: trobtsn@andrews.edu
Subject Guide
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
- Phone: 269-471-3158