Library Resources for School of Education: Databases & Articles
This guide supports the School of Education. It contains resources available at and through the James White Library
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (website)
- Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window Citation features help you find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities
- LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window LearnTechLib is the premier online resource for aggregated, peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in Learning and Technology by the world's leading publications and authors. Developed and supported for and by researchers, librarians, and educators.
Google Scholar Search
Tutorials
- Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources
Interlibrary Loan
If an article is not available at James White Library, it may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is offered to University students, faculty, and staff for the purpose of acquiring research materials to support their curricular needs. The requestor must have a currently validated Andrews University ID and be a JWL user in good standing.
Education Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new window Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. For psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students.
- APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. (1806 - current)
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- PsyArticles PsyArticles publishes articles and features with a focus on psychological research and theory
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering nearly 5 million citations and 2.6 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
Leadership and Management Databases
- ProQuest One Business / Business Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong US and international coverage in business and the social sciences. Coverage: 1951 - current
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Online Newspapers
- The Chronicle of Philanthropy Print and online news source for nonprofit leaders, fund raisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise.
- Education World Online resource that teachers, administrators and school staff can visit find news, lesson plans, and other information relevant to education.
- Education Matters Easy-to-read and right-to-the-point monthly newsletter with interesting and informative articles that provide a refreshing perspective.
- Education Week A weekly newspaper devoted to education. Articles, profiles, commentary, legislation, state and national news and book reviews for teachers and administrators in elementary and secondary schools.
Major Journal Titles
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
MAJOR JOURNAL TITLES
- Curriculum and Teaching Dialogue. (Dedicated to the scholarly study of teaching and curriculum)
-
Curriculum Inquiry.Covers the field of curriculum studies and is dedicated to studies of the educational experience.
-
Curriculum Journal. A peer reviewed journal. Covers curriculum theory, curriculum-making practices, etc
-
Journal of the Canadian Association for Curriculum Studies. An open-access journal for the Study of Education
-
Journal of Curriculum and Instruction. A peer-reviewed, electronic journal that provides a forum for the dissemination of articles focused on research, practice, and related issues relevant to preK-12 teaching and learning
-
Journal of Curriculum and Pedagogy. A peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the study of curriculum theory, educational inquiry, and pedagogical praxis...
-
Journal of Curriculum Studies. The prime international source for curriculum research
-
Journal of Curriculum Theorizing. An interdisciplinary journal of curriculum studies. It offers an academic forum for scholarly discussions of curriculum.
-
Teaching and Teacher Education. An international journal concerned primarily with teachers, teaching, and/or teacher education situated in an international perspective and context.Journal of Research on Christian Education. This journal provides a vehicle for the scholarly interchange research findings relative to every level of Christian education. Particular emphasis is given to Christian schooling within the protestant tradition as well as to research findings from other traditions which have implications for such schools.
-
Teaching in Higher Education. A peer-reviewed academic journal publishing articles on teaching in the setting of higher education
- Transnational Curriculum Inquiry. A peer-reviewed journal of the International Association for the Advancement of Curriculum Studies (IAACS), which is constituted to support a worldwide (but not uniform) field of curriculum studies.
- Journal of Research on Christian Education The journal provides a vehicle for the scholarly interchange of research findings relative to every level of Christian education.
- Phone: 269-471-3158