LibGuides: Seminary Library Portal: E-book and Media Collections

Reference Resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology This link opens in a new window This is an essential reference resource for scholars of global hymnody, with information on the hymns of many countries and languages, and a strong emphasis on the historical as well as the contemporary. It will be of interest to literary scholars, musicians, church historians, and theologians, and a delight for those who love the hymn as an art form.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Searching 3,437,135 full text articles in 805 reference books

Encyclopedia of Religion Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception This link opens in a new window
History of Global Christianity Online This link opens in a new window History of Global Christianity deals with the history of Christianity and its global development over the past five centuries. Going above and beyond the subject of church history, it deals with the cultural role of Christianity in its widest sense: from the many interactions of Christianity within society, politics, economics, philosophy and the arts, to the myriad of ventures that form civilizations, nations, and communities. How did Christianity involve itself in these overarching structures of human life?
Oxford Research Encyclopedias -- Religion This link opens in a new window The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The OREs cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedias combine the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing. Multi-media features embedded in the articles, along with cross-referenced links to related content, will further expand the utility and scope of the OREs.
Textual History of the Bible Online This link opens in a new window The Textual History of the Bible Online is unique in providing, for the first time, a cross-searchable platform which will contain all available information regarding the textual history, textual character, translation techniques, manuscripts, and the importance of each textual witness for each book of the Hebrew Bible, including its deutero-canonical scriptures. In addition, it includes articles on the history of research, the editorial histories of the Hebrew Bible, as well as other aspects of text-critical research and its auxiliary fields, such as papyrology, codicology, and linguistics.
World Christian Encyclopedia Online This link opens in a new window This in the online version of the 3rd edition of the World Christian Encyclopedia, which documents the changing status of World Christianity over the past 120 years from historical and social scientific perspectives. It records the continued shift of Christianity to the Global South and contains estimates for religious and nonreligious affiliation in every country of the world, including detail on Christianity to the denominational level. This reference work features comprehensive descriptions of all Christian traditions, including current information on the uniqueness of Christian experiences around the world. The online version is fully text searchable, contains cross references and additional photo material.

Streaming Media

NAXOS Music Library This link opens in a new window Music library with more than 127,220 CD-length recordings, equivalent to 1,946,200 tracks are available, with an average addition of 1,150 CDs every month

James White Library E-book Collections

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window A collection of over 260,000 eBooks available on the Ebsco platform.
eBook Religion Collection This link opens in a new window This unique collection features more than 6,800 e-books from trusted publishers covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts and more. This dynamic compilation of texts explores religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views and provides a key resource to meet the needs of students and scholars in their research.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
Digitalia Hispanica This link opens in a new window Digitalia Hispánica is a multidisciplinary database with about 30,000 ebooks and ejournals in Spanish language, from Spanish and Latin American publishers. You can either read online or download documents on loan to your computer.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.

James White Library Historical E-book Databases

Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window The Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window The Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 covers religious and theological literature from 1893 through 1922. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. (website)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window This database includes: Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more Based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere Primarily in English - also includes other languages
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Welcome – old friends and newcomers, scholars, students, and general readers alike – to the digital Loeb Classical Library, and to invite you to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in the familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window The TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

Your librarian

Terry Robertson

Email Me

Contact:

James White Library
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400

269-471-3269