LibGuides: Seminary Library Portal: Article Databases

NEW!

ANDREWS BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ETHNIC/MINORITY SCHOLARSHIP IN THEOLOGY (ABEST) Bibliography of academic and professional publications (2000-present) by current faculty of the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) who were reported as an ethnic or racial minority.

General Journal Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
American Periodicals Proquest This link opens in a new window This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.

SDA Open Access Journals

Open Access Seventh-day Adventist Academic Journals Listing of academic/professional journals published by Seventh-day Adventist Universities

Newspaper Archives

American Religion Denominational Newspapers This link opens in a new window Historical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society. Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies. More than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900
New York Times This link opens in a new window This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.  Coverage: 1980 - current
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects. This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window

Religion Journal Databases

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window The database provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. Coverage: 1986 - current
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window We provide objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.  We list a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions.  We provide English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and Boston College, this database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index This link opens in a new window The Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index provides citation indexing to over 40 past and present Seventh-day Adventist journals and magazines.  The Index was first published in 1971. Currently the index covers the years 1973 to current, with updating done in real time.
American Religion Denominational Newspapers This link opens in a new window Historical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society. Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies. More than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window Offers a multidisciplinary view of the study of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present. Nearly 350 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jewish figures.
BAS Library This link opens in a new window Biblical Archaeology Society · Bringing the Ancient World to Life

Andrews University Journals

Andrews University Seminary Student Journal The Andrews University Seminary Student Journal (AUSSJ), established in 2014, is an online, open access, multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that is led, edited, and reviewed by a team of doctoral students and faculty members of the Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary at Andrews University. The purpose of the journal is to disseminate scholarly contributions of graduate students. Submissions may be made in the area of Systematic Theology, Philosophy, Ethics, Hebrew Bible, Jewish Studies, New Testament, Archaeology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Church History, Applied Theology, Mission, and Religious Education.
Andrews University Seminary Studies
Journal of Adventist Mission Studies
Journal of Adventist Youth and Young Adult Ministry
Journal of Applied Christian Leadership
Journal of Research on Christian Education The Journal of Research on Christian Education (JRCE) provides a vehicle for the scholarly interchange of research findings relative to every level of Christian education. Particular emphasis is given to Christian schooling within the Protestant tradition as well as to research findings from other traditions which have implications for such schools.