Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Catalogs and databases have subject headings, controlled topic headings assigned by catalogers and indexers. Search first by keyword, then switch to a subject search after you have identified the best subject terms for your topic.
If you are looking for an article in a journal that isn't listed in Periodicals A-Z, you may request an interlibrary loan. The article will be e-mailed to you. Be sure to allow a week for the article to arrive.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this comprehensive collection provides indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 500 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Researchers, students and practitioners seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource. (website)
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
Social Work Journals
Browse Social Work journal titles by clicking on Periodicals A-Z. Under Browse e-Journals by Subject, select Social Sciences and then Social Welfare & Social Work.