Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Catalog Subject Headings
Library Catalog subject headings on adoption:
- Adoption Agencies
- Adoption (Country)
- Adoption Law and Legislation
- Adoption - Psychological Aspects
- Adoption - Personal Narratives
- Intercountry Adoption
- Interracial Adoption
- Older child Adoption
- Open Adoption
- Special Needs Adoption
EndNote software helps you manage research sources and integrate them into MS Word. Downloading is free to AU students from the Library EndNote page.
The Social Work Research Guide contains a complete list of databases recommended for Social Work research. The following are especially recommended for this class.
Social Work Abstracts Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this comprehensive collection provides indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 500 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Researchers, students and practitioners seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource. (website)
PsycINFO This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Academic Search Complete This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Government websites with information on adoption