MAPM Resources
Terry Robertson
Contact:
James White Library
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
269-471-3269
Website
Periodical Databases for Religion
- Adventist Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window The database provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window We provide objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. We list a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. We provide English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and Boston College, this database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
- Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index This link opens in a new window The Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index provides citation indexing to over 40 past and present Seventh-day Adventist journals and magazines. The Index was first published in 1971. Currently the index covers the years 1973 to current, with updating done in real time.
Andrews University Journals
- Andrews University Seminary Student Journal The Andrews University Seminary Student Journal (AUSSJ), established in 2014, is an online, open access, multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that is led, edited, and reviewed by a team of doctoral students and faculty members of the Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary at Andrews University. The purpose of the journal is to disseminate scholarly contributions of graduate students. Submissions may be made in the area of Systematic Theology, Philosophy, Ethics, Hebrew Bible, Jewish Studies, New Testament, Archaeology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Church History, Applied Theology, Mission, and Religious Education.
- Journal of Research on Christian Education The Journal of Research on Christian Education (JRCE) provides a vehicle for the scholarly interchange of research findings relative to every level of Christian education. Particular emphasis is given to Christian schooling within the Protestant tradition as well as to research findings from other traditions which have implications for such schools.
General Periodical Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Licensed database, AU username and password required for access from off campus. This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. The capacity of content within this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (website)
- Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window Licensed database, AU username and password required for access from off campus. The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search.
Open Access Databases for Periodical Literature
- Semantic Scholar Cut through the clutter. Find peer-reviewed research from the world's most trusted sources
Finding Articles from Citations
To find an article from a citation, use the "Find articles" guide.
Document Delivery
All online and extension site students may request copies of articles not freely available on the Web or from the Library’s databases.
Complete and submit the following form, and a PDF of the article will be sent to your AU email.
Academic Social Media
Web sites with social media features intended for academic scholars who are self-archiving their work, including many representatives in the fields of religion, theology, philosophy and related disciplines.
Is the Journal Available in James White Library?
Links to available journal titles in Philosophy and Religion, both print and online, in James White Library.
- Phone: 269-471-3158