History/Political Science/Law Research Guide: E-book Collections
General Reference Resources
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Searching 3,437,135 full text articles in 805 reference books
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias -- Religion This link opens in a new window The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The OREs cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedias combine the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing. Multi-media features embedded in the articles, along with cross-referenced links to related content, will further expand the utility and scope of the OREs.
National/Regional Online Archives
- BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (Germany) BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. German Langauge Resource
- Digital Public Library of America A Wealth of Knowledge: explore 4,484,077 items from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.
- Europeana Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections
- Gallica Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plus de 2 millions de documents.
- TROVE: National Library of Australia Find and get over 362,439,667 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more
- Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB): Germany The goal of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) is to offer everyone unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage, that is, access to millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, as well as films and scores, from all over Germany. As a central, national portal, the DDB is aiming to bring together and network digital content from all of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions.
JWL E-book Collections
All titles are found in the library catalog.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window A collection of over 260,000 eBooks available on the Ebsco platform.
- Digitalia Hispanica This link opens in a new window Digitalia Hispánica is a multidisciplinary database with about 30,000 ebooks and ejournals in Spanish language, from Spanish and Latin American publishers. You can either read online or download documents on loan to your computer.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 19,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. (website)
Historical Ebook Collections
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1 This link opens in a new window Students, educators, and researchers can now engage with a vast resource that connects them to rare and unique documentation of LGBTQ history through fully-searchable newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources. Selection of materials for this milestone digital program is guided by an advisory board consisting of leading scholars and librarians in sexuality and gender studies.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement LCP 1670-1800 This link opens in a new window Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement Published in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. (website)
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window This database includes: Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more Based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere Primarily in English - also includes other languages
- History of Global Christianity Online This link opens in a new window History of Global Christianity deals with the history of Christianity and its global development over the past five centuries. Going above and beyond the subject of church history, it deals with the cultural role of Christianity in its widest sense: from the many interactions of Christianity within society, politics, economics, philosophy and the arts, to the myriad of ventures that form civilizations, nations, and communities. How did Christianity involve itself in these overarching structures of human life?
- Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) is very proud to present the Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library, a free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s in the Judean Desert along the western shore of the Dead Sea – are now available to the public online.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Welcome – old friends and newcomers, scholars, students, and general readers alike – to the digital Loeb Classical Library, and to invite you to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in the familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window You have access to part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window The TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
- Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window As the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights. As a comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities will focus on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.
Open Access E-books Historical Collections
- Phone: 269-471-3158