History/Political Science/Law Research Guide: Articles
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, and monographs and other materials relevant for education.
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers in order to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (website)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
- Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window The Web of Science citation index helps researchers to find, analyze, and share information. It gives links to articles cited in an author's publication and tells which scholars have cited each article.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals.
Research Engines
- Semantic Scholar Cut through the clutter. Find peer-reviewed research from the world's most trusted sources
Tutorials
- Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources
Databases for History
- Adventist Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- American Periodicals Proquest This link opens in a new window This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1 This link opens in a new window Students, educators, and researchers can now engage with a vast resource that connects them to rare and unique documentation of LGBTQ history through fully-searchable newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources. Selection of materials for this milestone digital program is guided by an advisory board consisting of leading scholars and librarians in sexuality and gender studies.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts & humanities
- BAS Library This link opens in a new window Biblical Archaeology Society · Bringing the Ancient World to Life
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window This archive is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
- History of Global Christianity Online This link opens in a new window History of Global Christianity deals with the history of Christianity and its global development over the past five centuries. Going above and beyond the subject of church history, it deals with the cultural role of Christianity in its widest sense: from the many interactions of Christianity within society, politics, economics, philosophy and the arts, to the myriad of ventures that form civilizations, nations, and communities. How did Christianity involve itself in these overarching structures of human life?
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Documents, photos, maps, film, and video from leading history journals. Also includes biographies of historical figures.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.
- Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window Offers a multidisciplinary view of the study of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present. Nearly 350 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jewish figures.
- Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects. This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window You have access to part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
- Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window As the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights. As a comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities will focus on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.
Databases for Political Science / Law
- FDSys (Federal Digital System) This link opens in a new window The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) is the Federal Government’s official, digital, secure resource for producing, procuring, cataloguing, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. Government.
- GPO This link opens in a new window U.S. government publications. Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
- Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window Search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms by topic including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes, and more. A majority of the full text legal reference books provided through NOLO.
- Legal Source This link opens in a new window A scholarly resource of current issues, studies, and trends of the legal world. For attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, and paralegals.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Presents multiple sides of over 400 issues. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window Designed for students, researchers, and government institutions. Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of current discourse.
- WestLaw This link opens in a new window Thomson Reuters Westlaw is the industry's most preferred online legal research service year after year. With Westlaw, you can find the legal information you are looking for quickly and confidently so you can build the strongest argument possible. (web site)
Biography and Geneology Databases
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window More than 450,000 biographies. Includes complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
- MyHeritage Library Edition This link opens in a new window Family history resource including more than 6 billion historical records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions. Includes the full USA federal census (1790-1940); census of England and Wales (1841-1901); U.S. World War II Army Enlistment as well as records of Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers. Over 2 billion family trees.
- Seventh-day Adventist Obituary Index This link opens in a new window The obituaries in this Index are found in a number of Seventh-day Adventist Church sponsored and published periodicals. Not all church members are included. Only those members for which the editor received information will be found in the magazine and therefore in this Index. This Obituary Index covers 1850 to the current year.
Print Periodicals
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
Interlibrary Loan
If an article is not available full text in the database you are using, use the "Finding Articles from Citations Guide". If you do not find the article online, request the article from the James White Library Interlibrary Loan office.
- Finding articles from citations You find a citation for a journal article without a pdf attached. Sources: library database, book, other journal article, professor's recommendation. How can you access it?
Newspaper Archives
- American Religion Denominational Newspapers This link opens in a new window Historical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society. Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies. More than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900
- New York Times This link opens in a new window This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history. Coverage: 1980 - current
- Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects. This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
- The Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
- Phone: 269-471-3158