Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Religion research guide!
Encore Discovery @ Andrews University
Search the Library
Encore is a keyword search engine for the Library's collections of books, digital resources, databases and more. See also Advanced Search.
To find articles and dissertations:
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS The database provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars.
Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index The Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index provides citation indexing to over 40 past and present Seventh-day Adventist journals and magazines.
The Index was first published in 1971. Currently the index covers the years 1973 to current, with updating done in real time.
Academic Search Complete This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Finding the Text of Articles
If you need to find the text of an article, search Periodicals A-Z for the periodical title. To find out how, read the pdf guide or watch the powerpoint slides.
Other James White Library Guides and Portals
Bibliographic management tool available for Andrews University users
Librarians are here to help you. Walk in, contact the Information Desk by phone (269-471-3283), or use the Ask-A-Librarian electronic reference service. You can also make an appointment for a consultation.