General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, and monographs and other materials relevant for education.
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers in order to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (website)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals.
Google Scholar Search
Tutorials
- Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources
Databases
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window The database provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window We provide objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. We list a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. We provide English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and Boston College, this database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
- AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 121,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
- Anthropological Index Online The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) in cooperation with Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. It is an index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. The Library, which incorporates the former RAI library, holds some 4,000 periodical titles (1,500 current) covering all branches and areas of anthropology. Nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present.
- RAMBI Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Covers fine, decorative, and commercial arts. Also covers architecture and architectural design. Features full text articles and indexing and abstracts for journals, books, podcasts, and more. Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Print Periodicals
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
Interlibrary Loan
If an article is not available full text in the database you are using, use the "Finding Articles from Citations Guide". If you do not find the article online, request the article from the James White Library Interlibrary Loan office.
- Finding articles from citations You find a citation for a journal article without a pdf attached. Sources: library database, book, other journal article, professor's recommendation. How can you access it?
