DIS Research Guide
Subject Guide
Terry Robertson
Contact:
James White Library
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
Andrews University
4190 Administration Dr.
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-1400
269-471-3269
Website
SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT
Please indicate your preference on the scheduling form:
a) via Zoom
b) in-person, James White Library, Rm 275
General Academic E-book Collections
- Digitalia Hispanica This link opens in a new window Digitalia Hispánica is a multidisciplinary database with about 30,000 ebooks and ejournals in Spanish language, from Spanish and Latin American publishers. You can either read online or download documents on loan to your computer.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window A collection of over 260,000 eBooks available on the Ebsco platform.
Historical and Special E-book Collections in Religious Studies
- Adventist Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
- Association of Religion Data Archives Ассоциация Религиозных Архивов Данные, включенные в ARDA, представлены передовыми учеными и исследовательскими центрами в мире.
- Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window The Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
- Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window The Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 covers religious and theological literature from 1893 through 1922. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
- Atla Digital Library The ATLA Digital Library provides discoverability and access to digital collections of interest to religion and theology researchers. It is conceived in support of ATLA’s mission of fostering the study of theology and religion by enhancing the development of theological and religious studies libraries and librarianship. Through collaboration with ATLA member and non-member libraries and organizations, the ATLA Digital Library Program will offer a range of services, from aggregation of metadata and linking to digital collections to hosting collections on behalf of participating libraries and organizations.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) The mission of the CCEL is to build up the church by making classic Christian writings available and promoting their use.
- eBook Religion Collection This link opens in a new window This unique collection features more than 6,800 e-books from trusted publishers covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts and more. This dynamic compilation of texts explores religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views and provides a key resource to meet the needs of students and scholars in their research.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
- Ellen G. White Writings One of the founders of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, Ellen G. White was a prolific writer whose works inspired and ministered to her contemporaries, and yet her timeless insight and wisdom continue to bless her readers.
- Global Mission Centers Global Mission Centers help us understand the beliefs and cultures of other world religions and equips Adventists to interact with them in social and business settings.
- GlobeTheoLib Requires individual registration, no cost to user. The Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism [GlobeTheoLib] is a multilingual online library offering access free of charge to more than 650'000 full-text articles, journals, books and other resources. Its focus is on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity.
- Post-Reformation Digital Library The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research of Calvin Theological Seminary.
- Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology This link opens in a new window It is an essential reference resource for scholars of global hymnody, with information on the hymns of many countries and languages, and a strong emphasis on the historical as well as the contemporary.
- Theological German Dictionary Wolfgang P. Kunze EditorIncluded are the Religionswissenschaften: Archeology, Religious Art and Architecture, Church History, Comparative Religion, Ethics, Judaic Studies, Language, Linguistics, and Literature , Missions, Mythology and Folklore, Pastoral Counseling, Sacred Music, and Philosophy, as well as important abbreviations and Latin phrases and German, Latin, and Greek root words which are used as technical terms with very specific meanings. This online-dictionary continues to improve and grow as new words are entered and checked every day. Since this is a work in progress and all entries are set up around a specific use of the vocabulary we make no guarantee of completeness. However, over 28.000 entries are already in the database.
- World Christian Database This link opens in a new window The World Christian Database (WCD) includes detailed information on 9,000 Christian denominations and on religions in every country of the world. Extensive data are available on 234 countries and 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as on 5,000 cities and 3,000 provinces.
- World Christian Encyclopedia Online This link opens in a new window This in the online version of the 3rd edition of the World Christian Encyclopedia, which documents the changing status of World Christianity over the past 120 years from historical and social scientific perspectives. It records the continued shift of Christianity to the Global South and contains estimates for religious and nonreligious affiliation in every country of the world, including detail on Christianity to the denominational level. This reference work features comprehensive descriptions of all Christian traditions, including current information on the uniqueness of Christian experiences around the world. The online version is fully text searchable, contains cross references and additional photo material.
Historical Literary E-book Databases
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. (website)
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window This database includes: Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more Based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere Primarily in English - also includes other languages
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Includes Encyclopedia of Religion Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.
General Reference
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.
Additional Open Access Databases for E-books
National/Regional Online Archives
- BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (Germany) BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. German Langauge Resource
- Digital Public Library of America A Wealth of Knowledge: explore 4,484,077 items from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.
- Europeana Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections
- Gallica Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plus de 2 millions de documents.
- TROVE: National Library of Australia Find and get over 362,439,667 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more
- Phone: 269-471-3158