Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
SpringerLInk This link opens in a new window
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science citation index helps researchers to find, analyze, and share information. It gives links to articles cited in an author's publication and tells which scholars have cited each article.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Includes over 14,000 short stories and 54,000+ poems. Covers information on thousands of authors and their works. Topics include: plot summaries, literary criticism, book reviews, novels, and author interviews.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts & humanities
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
This resource offers information for scholars studying mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology. It includes many unique full-text titles not available in other EBSCO academic databases and features backfile coverage of top communication sources.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews. Create your own reading wish list.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of thousands of poems, as well as short stories, biographies, and essays. Topics include the poetic forms, movements, and techniques.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
More than 450,000 biographies. Includes complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
Michigan Authors and Illustrators This link opens in a new window
Use the database to find out about Michigan authors! You can look for non-fiction, poetry, mysteries, romance, children’s books and much more. You can find authors for presentations and visits. This is a great source for students looking for Michigan authors to read and for librarians or teachers looking for Michigan authors to do events or for collection development.
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
If an article is not available at James White Library, it may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is offered to University students, faculty, and staff for the purpose of acquiring research materials to support their curricular needs. The requestor must have a currently validated Andrews University ID and be a JWL user in good standing.