Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the English research guide!
Google Scholar is the academic part of Google. It includes links to books, articles, and other documents. Set your preferences to James White Library to take advantage of the links to our full-text journals.
To find articles, dissertations, and references:
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Finding the Text of Articles
If you need to find the text of an article, follow the steps on the "Finding articles" guide.
You may also search Periodicals A-Z for the periodical title. To find out how, read the pdf guide or watch the powerpoint slides.
Other James White Library Guides and Portals
Bibliographic management tool available for Andrews University users
Librarians are here to help you. Walk in, contact the Information Desk by phone (471-3283), or use the Ask-A-Librarian electronic reference service. You can also make an appointment for a consultation.