Library Resources for Population Health, Nutrition & Wellness: Home
Professional References
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Sources include journals (some peer-reviewed) and reports.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Supports the health and wellness information needs of patients. Covers mainstream medicine as well as complementary and holistic medicine.
- Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health, and more. Information comes from magazines, books, Clinical Reference System reports, and pamphlets.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window Lippincott Advisor is the single source for immediate, evidence-based, online nursing clinical-decision support. It delivers instant, 24/7 access to the latest evidence-based information that clinicians need at the point of care with over 17,000 monographs and patient teaching handouts.
- LWW Nursing & Health Professions Journals Collection (Ovid Emcare) This link opens in a new window This exclusive collection gives you 38 of today's top nursing journals used by nurses, nursing students, and health professionals around the world on a daily basis, as well as a premier nursing and allied health database - updated for 2024 with 1 additional journal! For institutions exploring electronic journals that meet the needs of their nursing professionals, students, researchers and other professionals, this collection is a perfect solution. It’s a convenient and affordable way to give users access to some of the best titles addressing today’s nursing and allied health topics. At Ovid we know that quality of care is a top priority and it depends on access to the most current medical research information available. With the LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection, your organization will benefit from highly respected nursing information from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Ovid Emcare, a partnership with Elsevier, sets a new standard in nursing and allied health research, offering an unparalleled nursing research combination: the world’s most comprehensive and trusted scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health PLUS the advanced search and discovery technology of the Ovid® platform. It is the premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education—access to over 5 million records, more than any other nursing database!
- MedLine This link opens in a new window MEDLINE® contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world..
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window For more than 20 years, clinicians around the world have relied on UpToDate as their primary resource for medical knowledge at the point of care. The knowledge contained in UpToDate is evidence-based and continuously updated, but it is not merely an aggregation and report of the latest research; UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. It combines an advanced publishing platform with the rigor of a sophisticated editorial process managed by a faculty of accomplished physician authors and editors, renowned leaders in their specialties.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window For more than 20 years, clinicians around the world have relied on UpToDate as their primary resource for medical knowledge at the point of care. The knowledge contained in UpToDate is evidence-based and continuously updated, but it is not merely an aggregation and report of the latest research; UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. It combines an advanced publishing platform with the rigor of a sophisticated editorial process managed by a faculty of accomplished physician authors and editors, renowned leaders in their specialties.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 19,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. (website)
Your Librarian
Tutorials
- Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources
- Phone: 269-471-3158