Library Resources for Population Health, Nutrition & Wellness: Articles
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database with access to peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, and monographs and other materials relevant for education.
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers in order to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (website)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
- Web of Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window The Web of Science citation index helps researchers to find, analyze, and share information. It gives links to articles cited in an author's publication and tells which scholars have cited each article.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals.
Health Reference Resources for non-Professionals
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Supports the health and wellness information needs of patients. Covers mainstream medicine as well as complementary and holistic medicine.
- Consumer Health Information This link opens in a new window Offers detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Provides answers in evidence-based reports that feature illustrations and easy-to-read text.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health, and more. Information comes from magazines, books, Clinical Reference System reports, and pamphlets.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Research Engines
- Semantic Scholar Cut through the clutter. Find peer-reviewed research from the world's most trusted sources
Tutorials
- Library Primer 2.0 Basic information on searching and finding research sources
Population Health and Wellness Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
- MedLine This link opens in a new window Published by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.
- PubMedPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window For more than 20 years, clinicians around the world have relied on UpToDate as their primary resource for medical knowledge at the point of care. The knowledge contained in UpToDate is evidence-based and continuously updated, but it is not merely an aggregation and report of the latest research; UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. It combines an advanced publishing platform with the rigor of a sophisticated editorial process managed by a faculty of accomplished physician authors and editors, renowned leaders in their specialties.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Sources include journals (some peer-reviewed) and reports.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. Coverage: 1871 - current
- American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window ACS Publications support the American Chemical Society's goal to be the most authoritative, comprehensive, and indispensable provider of chemistry-related information
- APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. (1806 - current)
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles. Coverage: 1952 - current
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
- Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window Lippincott Advisor is the single source for immediate, evidence-based, online nursing clinical-decision support. It delivers instant, 24/7 access to the latest evidence-based information that clinicians need at the point of care with over 17,000 monographs and patient teaching handouts.
Print Periodicals
Print periodicals are located on the lower floor of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order, rather than by call number. They are also divided into Seminary (red tags) and General (blue tags). Loose issues from the current year are separate from bound volumes of previous years.
Be sure to have the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page number of the article with you when you look for a specific print periodical article.
Interlibrary Loan
If an article is not available full text in the database you are using, use the "Finding Articles from Citations Guide". If you do not find the article online, request the article from the James White Library Interlibrary Loan office.
- Finding articles from citations You find a citation for a journal article without a pdf attached. Sources: library database, book, other journal article, professor's recommendation. How can you access it?
Core Journals
- Annual Review of Public Health 1980, 1997-2005 available in James White Library. For other issues see Interlibrary Loan.
- International Journal of Hygiene and Environmental Health Partial content available online. For other articles contact Interlibrary Loan.
- Occupational and Environmental Medicine Available through 2007. For recent issues contact Interlibrary Loan.
- Phone: 269-471-3158