Database Subject Guides
Article databases are listed by title or subject. Look at the Library's Subject Guides list to find databases focused on a subject area.
Pdf guides to library databases are organized by the name of the database provider.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar contains academic articles, books, and other documents. To find the article text, look for the link, Find it in James White Library, or search for the Journal title in Periodicals A-Z.
Interlibrary Loan
If the article you need is not available through Periodicals A-Z or Google Scholar, you can request an Interlibrary Loan. Fill out the form below. It will take about a week to obtain the article.
EBSCO
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is the leading resource for scholarly research that supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) provides access to academic journals covering a wide range of topics. Many articles have full-text links, but some include citations and abstracts only. If you need to find the text of a periodical article, search Periodicals A-Z for the periodical title. To find out how, read the pdf guide or watch the powerpoint slides.
JSTOR
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database with fulltext images of many journals, some going back to the 1800's. It doesn't contain current issues of some journals, however. JSTOR searching retrieves words found in the whole article rather than just the article record.
ProQuest Databases
ProQuest provides access to many important databases including PsycINFO, ABI Inform, MLA Bibliography, and Dissertations & Theses. They can be searched individually or as a group.
