Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JWL E-book Collections
All titles are found in the library catalog.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 260,000 eBooks available on the Ebsco platform.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
JWL Historical E-book Databases
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. (website)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
This database includes:
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)
Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
Primarily in English - also includes other languages
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Welcome – old friends and newcomers, scholars, students, and general readers alike – to the digital Loeb Classical Library, and to invite you to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in the familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
The TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Additional Open Access Databases for E-books
Historical and Special Collections in Religion and Theology
Adventist Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Adventist Digital Library provides direct access to Adventist historical materials, as well as current resources available within copyright boundaries.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
The Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
The Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 covers religious and theological literature from 1893 through 1922. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
eBook Religion Collection This link opens in a new window
This unique collection features more than 6,800 e-books from trusted publishers covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts and more. This dynamic compilation of texts explores religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views and provides a key resource to meet the needs of students and scholars in their research.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Ellen G. White Writings
One of the founders of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, Ellen G. White was a prolific writer whose works inspired and ministered to her contemporaries, and yet her timeless insight and wisdom continue to bless her readers.
Requires individual registration, no cost to user.
The Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism [GlobeTheoLib] is a multilingual online library offering access free of charge to more than 650'000 full-text articles, journals, books and other resources. Its focus is on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity.
Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) is very proud to present the Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library, a free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s in the Judean Desert along the western shore of the Dead Sea – are now available to the public online.
Open Access Digital Theological Library
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced library discovery cataloging and discovery system, OCLC’s WorldShare, to make content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research of Calvin Theological Seminary.
Religious Studies Web Guide
This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion.
National/Regional Online Archives
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (Germany)
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. German Langauge Resource
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB): Germany
The goal of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) is to offer everyone unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage, that is, access to millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, as well as films and scores, from all over Germany. As a central, national portal, the DDB is aiming to bring together and network digital content from all of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions.
Digital Public Library of America
A Wealth of Knowledge: explore 4,484,077 items from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.
Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections
Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plus de 2 millions de documents.
TROVE: National Library of Australia
Find and get over 362,439,667 Australian and online resources:
books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more
General Reference Resources
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
MeL Database -- Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia of Religion Licensed database, requires AU username and password for access off campus.